Herbs... this year, I do not have any luck with them... (Monday Freewrite)

in #freewrite6 years ago

Today's freewrite prompt (by @mariannewest) got me triggered as soon as I saw it. It is all about herbs. And mine is a sad but true story.

What are those herbs? Well, they are the base of a whole lot of things. First, herbs are essential when you are sick. The medicine made from herbs is always my first choice if I do not have the chance to let my body heal himself. But that's not all.

Herbs are also what some would say (at least in German) "the salt in the soup" (don't know if there is a similar phrase in English tbh). With herbs, one can create fantastic meals, without any of all these chemical stuff we are all seeing in the markets around us.

As a father of two kids, I am responsible to give them the best meals they can get. That's the reason why I always try to have some fresh herbs in our garden. As soon as it is warm enough in spring, I plant them outside. Sadly, this year (as you can see in the photo above), I do not have any luck with them.

The Basil first did not grow, then got eaten nearly completely by some strange bugs I have never seen before. The sage had some mildew over it, and there were only three leaves left once I removed all sick ones. Now it is growing like hell, stealing all sun and water from the Rosemary plant and the Thyme plant we made together in the pot. Normally, they are supposed to grow equally. Not this year...

I hope I have some luck in rescuing them, to be able to get the best out of them for my family.



P.S. I am happy about any tips to rescue them as well.


Sort:  

I am very sorry for your loss! I hope you rescue those herbs......I know this may sound weird, but sometimes you get really attached to plants since u put so much time and energy into them.
P.S: You can check out my entry right here:
https://steemit.com/esteem/@khadija14/day-242-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-herbs

Thx. Yours is a sad story but well written

Thank you for coming along @msicc

Your basil and sage look very healthy comparing to mine! I must have the "black thumb", not green... :P

Here’s the most recent freewrite prompt, so you can keep on writing in this amazing community:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-243-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-phone
Enjoy, and have a good day!


Visit this blog for amazing insights, contests, and initiatives about #freewrite community!

Sad to hear that... hope your thumb gets green one day 😊

I love this post and I am on your team! I recommending you on the Tuesday @freewritehouse Win a Membership in SteemBasicIncome contest today. I know you will get more happy readers :)

You've been featured in today's Freewrite Favorites Keep up the great writing and thank you so much for being a part of our community! @byn

freewriteFavorites-300px.png

Thanks a lot for mentioning my post 👍. I was a bit busy this week, but I try to continue participating becauseI liked the experience. Seeing others liking my post motivates me for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17