It’s the “Becoming One” That Can Be Interesting

in #freewrite6 years ago

Do you want to join us for today’s freewrite challenge? Find out what to do here

I remember back in the day when my husband and I were newlyweds in 2009. We were in the process of setting up our home. He lived there for a while before I moved in. It was a Saturday morning, and I was getting ready to start a load of laundry. I grabbed up the colored towels and threw them into the washing machine with the powder. 

My husband asked me, “What are you doing?”

I responded, “Washing towels. Did you have any others that you wanted me to wash for you?”

He looked at me and said,“Why are you using the colored towels anyway? If we have started using the white towels, then you need to job in and use the white towels as well. We do not want to wash small loads of towels like this.” 

I tilted my head and said, “First of all, I am glad that you want to have full loads of laundry. That is a good quality to have, looking for new ways to save money. However, I cannot use white towels all of the time. It would not be feasible with what happens with women on a monthly basis, you know?”

He got really quiet, but he did say that we needed to find a better solution for this. For him, full loads of laundry were a requirement.

Thankfully, we have long outgrown that rule about using only one kind of towel at a time, but it reminds me that the process of “becoming one” was a true adventure, especially since you have grown together during the years.


(I went over by about 2 minutes, to clean up quotes.)

Sort:  

This made me smile when I remembered when I first moved in with my partner. He started putting his things in the bathroom without asking me. It took me a while to get over that shock.

That is so funny!
It’s like, what do you think you are doing?!? 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56