The Tale Of The Broken Shoe (Freewrite Story)

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Prompt: a shoe

5 minute freewrite story set by @mariannewest

Weekend single prompt option

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-3-31-2018-single-prompt-option

foot-3248453_1920.jpg
Copyright free image from Pixabay

The Tale Of The Broken Shoe

It broke two months ago. It is unrepairable. The shoe is still sitting there on the shoe rack. It should be in the bin, but something is making it stay. Maybe it is time to let go of the shoes and move on.

The shoe for the other foot is ok, but it is useless on its own. However, the next morning I notice that the shoe has gone.

Where did it go? Did someone throw it out?

Whatever happens, it is not worth worrying about. The shoe was broken and it is time for it to be replaced.

Two weeks later, a postcard arrives at the door. It is from the garden gnome. I didn't realise that the garden gnome had gone. I never bought it and I always thought it was boring.

Whoever took my gnome is very welcome to it. It's a silly joke but I'm not caring.

Another postcard arrives the next day. It is from the garden gnome again. This time he is saying that he has my shoe.

So what? This shoe was broke. This is not funny and it is not bothering me.

A week later, the doorbell rings. I open it.

“Is there anyone there?”

“Hello.”

I look down. It is the garden gnome.

“I'm back from holiday, here is your shoe.”

The gnome then walks off and returns to the garden.

I decide to walk over to the gnome.

“I didn't miss you anyway. I didn't even know you were gone. You just sit there all day, every day, in my garden with a fishing rod. You're boring.”

The next door neighbour has just caught the conversation.

“Pay attention to your gnome. Otherwise they may get together and cause an uprising. We could write a story called Planet Of The Gnomes.”

“That would be really boring,” I reply. “I'd rather write a story about a broken shoe.”

freewrite-mr-neil.jpg

Thank you @ameliabartlett for the freewrite banner.

Sort:  

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

I wonder where he took his holiday? Oh well, I'm sure after all that traveling, he was just glad to be gnome!

Oh no, it's pun city, and I haven't had any coffee yet.
😀

FOLLOW⇆BACK⇉@a-0-0

This is especially funny since I just went to the movie Sherlock gnomes with my grandkids :)

I'm trying to out-pun Sherlock Gnomes, but I'm struggling. Hahaha. 😂

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44