The Sun's Day Off (Freewrite Story)

in #freewrite6 years ago

Prompt: yellow

Task set by @mariannewest

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-161-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-yellow

IMG_20180329_181922.jpg
Picture taken on my Lenovo K5 Plus smartphone earlier today.

Oh no @mariannewest, yellow should be a nice prompt. But you've put into my head a song called “Yellow,” by Coldplay. It is ringing around my head and I can't get it out. The song is horrible, really horrible.

What do I do? Do I just put my pen down and put on some headphones during this late hour? Just to get the song out of my head.

I suppose there are one or two people in the world that love Coldplay. Not me.

My Dad is here, he has just offered me a banana. A yellow banana. I said no, but now I'm thinking of bananas instead. A much more pleasant thought.

Yellow is nice and bright. Like a star. Something that glows. Something that shines.

Let's have a story then.

One day the sun decided to have a day off. He did not want to rise at all. The land was in darkness.

All the residents were not pleased. They decided to congregate and shout for the sun.

They hear a voice.

“I am the Sun and today I will have a day off.”

Everyone looks at each other. I suppose one day without the Sun is not too bad. In fact, It could be quite romantic.

But when the next day came, there was still no Sun.

*Where are you Sun. Why aren't you shining again?” shouted the residents spokesperson.

“No way,” shouted the Sun. “Not until someone turns that damn radio off.”

“I hate that Coldplay song.”

freewrite-mr-neil.jpg

Thank you @ameliabartlett for the freewrite banner.

Sort:  

HaHa! Sounds like that song is SOL! : )

Wow that is an odd coincidence @mr-neil. When I first saw the prompt I thought of the exact same song (which I also don't like) and was going to open my story with that song playing in the background but was able to flick into a different start inspired by the yellow light from the sun. Sorry to hear that you couldn't get the warbling of Chris Martin out of your head ;-)

It was so annoying, that song. When all the hype started with Coldplay, I just thought that it was a reminder that 90s Britpop had really finished.

The freewrite house should have weird tales. I remember thinking one time that I would love to write a story about kids. When I got home, I saw the prompt. "Children." How weird is that?
:-)

Turn off the damn radio!!!!!!! I need the sun!!

Done. Bring out the sun. 😎

Haha! That's enough to ban Coldplay!

Headphones only 😀

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Ha! I haven't listened to Coldplay's "Yellow" and, for a change, I'm not the least bit curious! (Mostly because I really want some sunshine today! 😉)

Good choice :-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 65236.24
ETH 3401.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19