Stranded in WALES 🏉 (5 Minute Freewrite)

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

Prompt: stranded on the sofa like whales with a plankton's indigestion

I forgot my glasses again. I thought I was stranded on a sofa watching Wales play rugby whilst having a bit of indigestion.

Ok, before I start, I don't want to confuse my friends from across the pond.

What is rugby?

It is like NFL for men. No helmets or shoulder pads. No stopping every second to talk tactics. It is a proper rough sport. But what I do notice is that each team respects their opponents and they all respect the referee.

What is Wales?

It is a country of the United Kingdom. Everyone loves rugby. Everyone.

If you have ever lived in Wales and there's a big rugby match then it is the best thing ever.

Why?

Because all of the shops are empty. I never said I was a big fan myself.

It's like being in a movie where you're the only person still existing. You and the cashiers. The cashiers are so bored, they look like Zombies anyway.

So there's no need to be stranded on any sofa with Wales. Go out, do your shopping instead and enjoy the peace.

beach-2006993_1920.jpg
Copyright free image from Pixabay

I hope you enjoyed my freewrite. It would be shame if you had to sit through a whole NFL match (ok, you might prefer that, I'd rather watch a 5 day cricket test).

Task set by @mariannewest

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-88-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-see-below

Sort:  

Hah, great way to use the prompt. I visited Wales once, a long time ago, but apparently there wasn't a big rugby match happening. There were so many people!

Hehe, thank you. I had fun with this one. Next time, wait for the Rugby

Great twist on the Wales! Cymru Am Byth = D

Thank you. I left in 2006 and I haven't been back.
Long live the Manic Street Preachers, greatest band ever. :-)

They do have a very strong following of fans!

Yes, I don't think they have casual fans.

Great job with the prompt & it weren't easy. I was in N Wales a few times. Saw no rugby there but watched a great motocross race there once. Beautiful!

Not been to north Wales, but I bet its nice. I lived in Swansea for 2 years, which is in the south.

I think in N Wales the hills are a little steeper and rockier. And the accent has more of a musical lilt. It's great you gat to spend a couple of years in the south though!

Love how you got around the prompt and still made a very interesting story!!! :D and I learned something to boot!!

On a Sunday, where I live, if the Packers NFL team is playing shopping is the same.......you can hear a cricket in the place and lots of places have the game on the store radio loll

*Sorry I'm out of VP but really wanted to come read everyone's #freewrites.

No worries. I wish I had more time to read other freewrites, but I am back at work, so don't get much time. I do try.

I think you're in again already. So I'll not leave the link!

As an aside, I was once having a nice ride in a police car in Northern California and one of the policemen said "If you look out the window there you can see Wales."

And I honestly thought to myself "No you can't. It's too far away. It's not even the right direction."

Hahaha, brilliant. The freewrite prompts come around 7pm - 8pm my time. It's a good time for doing a freewrite.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mr-neil to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

I have never been to Wales! What a cool piece you got out of the prompt! Thanks for the education <3

Thank you :-)

I'm all for a game where everyone has some respect (bonus points for checking their egos at the gate)! I've never left the U.S. but I adore grocery shopping when there us a massive game on, or at 2 in the morning. Then it's just me, the night stockers, and an occasional addict (same rotating set of 4 or so dudes that hang out in the cereal aisle).

I live a across the road from a 24 hour supermarket. Early morning it is so quiet. Lovely.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59698.94
ETH 2303.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51