Skeletons In The Closet (Freewrite Story)

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Prompt: 40%, provided by @mariannewest

Link To Task
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-224-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-40-off

skeleton-1522620_1920.jpg

“So, can anyone now tell me what 40% of 200 is?” asked the teacher, Mrs Smith.

“Who gives a shit,” thought Charles.

“Ok Charles,” replied Mrs Smith. “Please tell us.”

Charles is looking puzzled. Not because he can't answer the question. In fact it is an easy one.

“Are you reading my mind?” asked Charles.

This brought laughter from the other students.

“Yes,” replied Mrs Smith. *I am reading your mind.”

“80, Miss,” replied Charles. “The answer is 80.”

“Very good Charles,” said Mrs Smith.

Charles went home that evening wondering if he was crazy. Did Mrs Smith really read his mind?

The next day Charles went into school earlier than normal. He decided to confront Mrs Smith.

“Are you really reading my mind?” asked Charles.

“Why do you ask?” asked Mrs Smith. “What were you thinking yesterday?”

Charles is silent

“Don't worry Charles, I'm not reading your mind.”

A look of relief came over Charles.

“I'm glad that has been cleared up,” said Mrs Smith. “Aren't you glad too, Charles?”

“Yes, Miss,” replied Charles. “I'm glad…...”

“…….We all have skeletons in our closets,” thought Charles.

Mrs Smith never did pick on Charles again.

antique-1296909_1280.png

freewrite-mr-neil.jpg

Thank you @ameliabartlett for the freewrite banner.

Sort:  

I think it is actually better not to read peoples minds LOL

I'd rather not be able to read minds too. I called the boy Charles because it is the name of Professor X.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60684.92
ETH 2911.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30