Remaking The Movie (Freewrite Story)

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Prompt: door knob provided by @mariannewest

5 Minute Freewrite Task

cathedral-3599450_1920.jpg

It has been too long since my last acting role. Any call would be a good call right now. For the meantime, I’ll enjoy putting my feet up in the garden on this nice sunny day.

The phone rings. It is my agent.

“Good afternoon, I have role that you might be interested in.”

“Good, I hope it is not a remake,” I replied. “Who’s the director?”

“They don’t have a director yet, but if you sign up, I'm sure that they`ll be queing around the block.“

“What about the movie itself?” I ask.

“It is a remake,” replied my agent.

“Oh, so we have no director and it is a remake. This is not looking good so far. What film do they want to remake?”

“The 6th Sense,” replied the agent.

Pause

“The 6th Sense? How can you remake the 6th sense? Everyone knows the ending to it.”

“The producers believe that there is a fresh young audience that never saw the original,“ replied my agent.

“I’m sure this new young audience are quite capable of getting hold of a DVD of the original. That would save everyone a lot of time.”

“Just to confirm,” said my agent. “You’re not interested then?”

“No.”

“Fair enough,” said my agent. “I will need to give the studio an official reason.”

“You can tell them that Cary Grant is standing next to me. He has told me to star in an original story.”

“Hahaha,” said my agent. “I can’t tell them that, they won’t believe you.”

“Tell them what you want. Cary Grant has told me not do do it.”

“.....and how is Cary Grant able to do that?” asked my agent.


Post story waffle

You may have noticed that the prompt, door knob, has not been used during the story. But it is the door knob that led me to the story. If you’ve seen The 6th Sense, you’ll know that it plays a significant part of the movie.

I hope you enjoyed this one. I like it,

freewrite-mr-neil.jpg

5 Minute Freewrite task conceived by @mariannewest and @improv

Banner created by @ameliabartlett.

Sort:  

Ooops, I don't recall the movie...but I enjoyed the story anyway!
In the meantime, here's the next prompt:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-305-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-tears

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

You should see the movie if you haven't already done so. That's all I can say.

Thank you for your feedback.

Cary gave excellent advice. Love the freewrite. ;)

Thank you. Maybe he could do my read alouds.
:-)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mr-neil from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63283.09
ETH 2463.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54