Communication Of Tragic Events (Freewrite)

in #freewrite6 years ago

Prompt: wire

Provided by @mariannewest

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-216-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-wire

turkey-3048299_1920.jpg

The Wire

This story is late. All because of the information I received. News descended from my home country. It was not good news and all very sudden.

To think now, we live in a world where someone who lives 3,500 miles away can access information the same as someone who lives on the next street. The world gets smaller every day. That is a good thing.

I remember hearing the same tragic news over 20 years ago. This time I was in a town, only a few miles away. It took nearly a day for the story of events to reach me. There was no mobile phone. Just information passed down a phone and copper wire.

I am using tragic events to show how technology has impacted how we communicate. I was never going to write a silly story today. That doesn't feel appropriate.

We can communicate with the world much easier than we could 20 years ago. What will it be like in another 20 years?

Technology moves on, but there is one thing that will never change; and that is how we communicate with the loved ones that have left us.

Above all, we just hope they are at peace.

dandelion-3420203_1920.jpg

freewrite-mr-neil.jpg

Thank you @ameliabartlett for the freewrite banner.

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Sorry to hear you had bad news my erstwhile freewriting partner.

I hope it hasn't left you without appetite for today's prompt:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-217-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-appetite

Thank you. It was sad news. I will get myself back on the story trail very soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 69253.24
ETH 2750.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74