An Afternoon Of Murder (Freewrite Story)

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Prompt: Flea Market provided by @mariannewest

5 Minute Freewrite Task

Morning,
January,
Cold,
Wet,
Torquay,
Devon,
England,
Late 1990s.

1010755_L.jpg

Not the most exciting time of the year. But there is a flea market, so it might be worth a look. Not much atmosphere and very quiet, Christmas has come and gone.

First, I go to the book stall and there is something of interest. Agatha Christie's Poirot. 7 stories in one book. The most famous crime writer in the world, who incidentally, was born in this very town of Torquay.

I believe it is going to be an afternoon of murder.

Just out of interest, I also bought a dragon ornament for no significant reason except it will look good on the mantelpiece. What I am trying to say is; I do not expect this to be potential murder weapon.

Oh no, is this a spoiler?

I am on my way home, but I see a few of my friends in our favourite “cheap and cheerful” cafe. It would be nice to say hello.

“What have you got there?” one of them asks.

“A book of Poirot stories. I'm going to have an afternoon of murder.” I reply.

“What else do you have there?”

“An dragon ornament that will look good on the mantelpiece,” I reply.

“Or a murder weapon,” replied one of my good friends.

We all have murder on our minds. Maybe it is our heritage. Whodunnit? Round up those suspects. We love a good mystery.

“I bought you a coffee.”

Wow, very good friends who get a coffee for you.

“Drink it,” he said.

I drink it. Luckily, it is not poisoned. We don't do that sort of thing here. We are friends.

Next, a tall and assertive man walk into the cafe. He walks over to our table.

“Good morning, gentleman. Police.”

We didn't do anything

“We are holding an identity parade at 1 o'Clock this afternoon. You guys would be perfect. You are the same age as the suspect. We will give you £20 on arrival and then more if we need you to stay longer.”

We all agree. Money talks.

In fact, we were there for most of the afternoon. We ended up making £75 each.

This, of course, means that the afternoon of murder will take place another time.

freewrite-mr-neil.jpg

Post story waffle

I'm looking forward to recording this story. It is not so much comedy, slightly satirical. That allows for some drama. Using pauses and silence to build tension.

In the meantime, here's a Brucie Bonus. If you come from the UK, you'll know what a Brucie Bonus is, God rest his soul.

Let's Go For A Drive

5 Minute Freewrite task conceived by @mariannewest and @improv

Banner created by @ameliabartlett.

Sort:  

You can do your afternoon of murder in the next prompt perhaps? Hehe.

I enjoy reading your freewrite. It is a new way of writing to me.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-302-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-door-knob

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thank you very much, I'm glad you enjoyed

I love Agatha!! i think I read all her books!

I've seen every Episode of the TV series starring David Suchet. They adapted every story.

It is true that she was from Torbay, my home borough. Poirot was based on a man she saw, who was a Belgian refugee from World War I.

I love that series! I've watched it so many times, it's one of the reasons I hardly ever get around to watching new shows.

But what I originally came to say was, great freewrite. It had me laughing, even if I was cheated of an afternoon of murder.

Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed it. Like most freewrite, it turned out different than I planned. Maybe I'll write a proper whodunnit.

That must have been an interesting man to watch. People watching is such a cool thing to do :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mr-neil from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57062.81
ETH 3068.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43