Great Grandpa's Nose - The Continuation of A Five Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)


How Gramps didn't wake up I'll never know, because I twisted his nose into a sick shade of purple. Maybe it was the wine, but I think it was mostly old age that kept him nodded off during Operation Steal A Nose. I remembered Gramps saying how he had a special button in there that made him smarter, and that's why his finger was always in it. I wondered if I could find it. What if the button is really the release and Gramps just keeps his finger on it to keep it safe? I ran to the kitchen to get the flashlight that Dad always kept in the catch-all drawer and that's when I saw them...pliers. Like it's fate. My fingers may not be able to do the job, but these pliers sure can. That nose is mine! I scurry back into the living room and find Gramps still snoozing away on the overstuffed couch. I flip the switch on the flashlight and begin phase two. I climb back up, careful to keep the light out of his eyes for fear this would wake him. I shine the bright beam up his nose, but the entanglement of grey hairs still make it hard to see anything. 'This is so gross.' I whispered as I stuck my finger up his nose in search of the switch to success. Two knuckles in and nothing but hair and a disgusting wetness. Perhaps I need to push and twist at the same time. Is that possible? I think it is, so I steady the pliers in one hand while stuffing my chubby little finger up Gramps' hairy nostril. One. Two. Oh no. Can I do this? Am I really about to steal this nose? The excitement of victory washes over me causing my business hand to shake. Breathe. Okay. One. Two. Three...I gripped his whiffer in between the end of the pliers real tight while jamming my finger right up his snout and twisted with everything that I had. Great Grandpa's eyes popped open as he came flying off of the couch, sending me tumbling to the floor. The pliers skittered across the floor with the tip of Gramps' old nose rolling beside it. I wasn't able to sit for a week after that, but nobody ever stole my nose again.


I started this story as a five minute freewrite. Five minutes fly when you're having fun, so I was unable to finish the story in one sitting. I really wanted to know how it ended, and I'm happy with it. I hope you are too.
Thanks for stopping by to check out my work.
x x
Mo
Photo Credit: Altioe on Pixabay

Sort:  

My hand always hurts after a timed freewrite... good work ! ⭐️

Ha! Such a great story!

Thanks! I reallly wanted to finish it and I'm glad I did!

Thanks for sharing your post on Pimp Your Post Thursday.

https://discord.gg/KP2tNq4

@molovelly this post was presented at the most recent Pimp Your Post Thursday on the Steemit Ramble Discord. I have written a post to share your featured post. Just stopping back to let you know that you can see your name in lights right here. (Just kidding about the lights :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61098.19
ETH 2625.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63