Freewrite 5 minutes prompt: Appetite

in #freewrite6 years ago

The word “appetite” is used in two different meanings. One is the state of strong liking for someone or something and the other one is to be hungry.

Let us discuss the second one which is the state of hunger.

animal-3244985_960_720.jpg
Image Source:https://pixabay.com/

Keeping the convention of telling childhood stories alive, I am going to tell you an interesting story today. I have two brothers with whom I would fight a lot when we were kids, not anymore though. One day we had severe arguments over a toy which our dad had brought. I was of the view that being younger I have more right to own it and my brother thought he is the most suitable since he is elder. Whenever I would fight with my brothers, I would not eat dinner that night out of protest. I followed the same convention and did not take food that night. During the night I realized that I am extremely hungry and have to find food somehow. As soon as I woke up to ask my mom to give me food, I came to know that it is almost 2 Am and all the people are sleeping. I thought for a moment to figure out how to get food and then approached the refrigerator. There were like 2 dozen bananas in the refrigerator which I ate one by one and in a few minutes, all perished.

Then what happened?

I went to sleep and woke up in the morning. After some time a few guests came our home and my mom asked me to fetch those bananas from the fridge for the guests. I without taking any moment went out of the home and never return until the lunchtime. When I returned my mom was so angry and asked me why I went out of the home when I was supposed to fetch bananas from the fridge? She also asked whether I took those bananas along?

I smiled and said,”I had eaten those bananas when I was hungry in the night”.

She was at first a bit angry, then gave me a big hug and laughed.

Sort:  

It is interesting that you punished yourself in a sense by not eating. did your brothers eat your portion?

They did not eat mine mam but It is always hard to warm the food especially when you are using traditional methods of cooking. We normally cook by burning wood in our area.

Yes, heating would be very difficult for a child in the middle of the night.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63077.53
ETH 2471.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66