Freewrite 5 min prompt: Five

in #freewrite6 years ago

Continuing with my tradition of recalling sweet childhood memories, today I am going to tell you how I can relate my first day at school with the number “Five”. Though the age required for a child to be enrolled in school has reduced over the years yet in our era, I mean like 20 years ago, the child age had to be five or above.

number-2032513_960_720.jpg
Image Source:https://pixabay.com/

When I turned five, I remember the very first day when my dad held my hand to take me to school. I thought my dad has arrested me like a policeman. My dad then handed me over to my brother who took me to the jail (school). Upon reaching the jail, I found out that along with many other convicts, there was my cousin too. I started talking to him since he was the most familiar face among those innocent souls. My cousin knowing my vulnerability gifted me with a box of chalks he had bought. That gift made me somewhat happy and I started going to the school every day. I kept on adjusting to the environment and a stage reached when I became the topper of the class, however, this momentum was completely destroyed when I was asked to go from that jail to a bigger jail. The bigger jail was more strict and sophisticated in punishment and kept me completely in chain till I freed myself. The number “5” has so much importance in my school time since It was the grade in which I rediscovered myself after a hard struggle and got the first position. From then onwards, I remained the topper of my class until the very end of my school time.

Calling my school a jail did not mean to downgrade education rather it is an effort to criticize the current education system in a light way in which fresh minds are completely shattered.

Sort:  

With the advent of new generations, the old education system needs to change! My children no longer agree to be slaves! They rebel :)

When injustice becomes law, rebellion becomes a duty :) Thanks for commenting, mam.

School may be seen as a jail, but I think a lot depends on teachers. In my school career, I met some teacher that was like a grim jailer, and one that was just like an interned in an asylum, but for the most part they were passionate and competent professionals that gave me the keys to free myself from every jail in the life!

Thank you so much for commenting, sir. It really makes sense since teacher really build us

Unfortunately, most people don't realize they're sending their kids to jail! Good writing.
Here is the new prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-214-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-home-alone

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thank you so much@Marie-jay. Thanks for giving the link to a new day topic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58906.05
ETH 2666.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44