#DailyFreeWriteChallenge: Day 95 - Glasses

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)


I lost my glasses last week. Spectacles are such elusive creatures. They've served me well; illuminating the road on dark nights. Revealing faces from across the bar. Transforming musicians on stage from fuzzy outlines to artists showcasing their work.

glasses.jpg

Photo by Bud Helisson on Unsplash

Glasses are limiting. At times, I'm concentrating more on what I can see instead of everything else that is going on around me. Although I value the gift of sight...I think it is overrated. Hearing, touching, tasting, and smelling the world are equally as important. Seeing can be blinding. When I close my eyes, cues from the outside world mold my imagination into a beautiful recreation of reality.


This post is in response to the #dailyfreewritechallenge posted by @mariannewest & @improv. Today's (Day 95) prompt is "glasses". If you're curious about the #dailyfreewritechallenge, check out the introduction post here.

Sort:  

Indeed, sight is most important part of our body. We all blessed with sight and we can see so many beautiful things around us.

It's one of the protective body part which protects us from many dangerous things.

Agreed! Life without sight would be very difficult. Even some of the smallest, most mundane tasks would be difficult, or nearly impossible, without the benefit of sight. For example, I'm not sure I would even be able to post on Steem if i couldnt see!

Glasses , Those out there who don’t where them have no idea how important they are. A pain to have to track them down. Back up pair is way to go !

Agreed! It's a shame that some people in the world who are unable to see don't even have the access to glasses. Companies like Warby Parker work towards fixing that problem though!

I share your sentiments regarding vision... And glasses. My fading vision is a sore spot for me. I try to overcome it with buying pretty glasses, but it really does not make up for what I can't see anymore.

Really losing your glasses is just awful. I'm way too blind without them lol.

It's true that sight isn't everything. Our other senses can and do, fill in beautifully.
Unfortunately, I'm not thinking that when I knock my glasses off of my side table and then can't find them in the morning when I'm trying to get ready for work.

Seeing can be blinding

I loved this sentence. So short, ossimoric and full of implications at the same time. The most blinding part of us is our own brain sometimes.

I like to shut my eyes and try to tune in and improve my ability to hear and distinguish what is going on around me sometimes without the aid of sight. I also try to navigate my house in the dark at times using only memory and feel. Reading this makes me think that maybe exorcising our senses should be part of our normal routine. 😉

Great work. I hadn't ever thought of sight quite like that......blinding.

The prompt for today is below:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-97-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-bowl

You are right, sometimes we try to see so hard that we forget to notice...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99