5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: It's what I do at 2:30 in the morning when I can't sleep

in #freewrite7 years ago

milky-way-2695569_1920.jpg


“What are you doing down there? I almost fell over you.”

“It’s what I do at 2:30 in the morning when I can’t sleep.”

“You come outside and lie on the ground in the dark?”

“It’s not dark. Not once you’ve been lying here a while. Well, it is. But less so. Your eyes get accustomed. There’s really lots to see. Different coloured stars. Little scuddy clouds. The lights of passing aeroplanes. Or space stations. Or UFOs. The universe is there to be observed. You should try it.”

She shrugs, invisible in the dark, and pokes in his direction with her toe.

“Or you could just stand there kicking me. If that’s your thing.”

“Sorry, just trying to avoid sitting on you. Or being over-familiar.”

“Because we wouldn’t want that.”

“Well no, not if the whole universe is watching.”

She crouches and pats at the grass. It’s dry and brittle with the drought. In the pictures, those she had seen before travelling, the countryside was always green. Grass and trees and ferns, all lush and full of life. Perhaps the pictures had been old. Or it was true elsewhere and just not here. In the dark she could picture it. Tall trees thick with leaves. The ground richly carpeted. Small creatures peering from the hedgerows, their eyes blinking orange.

She sits at what she guesses is an appropriate distance. “Are there snakes?”

“You know, I’ve never seen a snake in the wild. Not in this country anyway.”

“But there could be.”

“In theory, I suppose. But they aren’t poisonous. Or large enough to eat people. And the amount of noise we’re making any snake would run a mile.”

“Snakes don’t run. They slide.”

“Slither.”

“Yes. They slither.”

“Yes. But not around here.”

She uncrosses her legs and stretches out on the ground. With her hands clasped behind her head one elbow brushes against some part of his body. Shoulder, she thinks. She leaves it there. He doesn’t move.


My morning freewrite work-out. The goal simply being to write faster.

330 words. More than an hour. Ran with this as I thought it might be going somewhere. It wasn't!

Today's prompt is here:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-27-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-it-s-what-i-do-at-2-30-in-the-morning-when-i-can-t-sleep

Sort:  

Good writing and a nice short story. I wish I good at writing shot stories like this. It will be creative.
Sometimes It do comes to my head but I don't care about it.
I will start to care now and but them down so won't forget.
Thanks for sharing and nice meeting you.

Nice to meet you too!
Write the ideas down, practice a little each day. You'll be writing short stories before you know it.

I will @miniature-tiger, thanks for the advice.

@seyiodus

Frenzy...

Indeed!

this is beautiful!! It did go somewhere :)

Thanks Marianne! And thanks also for the resteem!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74