5 Minute Freewrite Day 360 "dry lips"

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Dry, chapped and weathered, my painful purple lips made me forget to use the Oxford comma I've come to know and love. Over the course of three weeks, my once bright red lips had turned into a dark violet color like a bruise that is continually aggravated.

It had all started with a Kiss. For years I had dreamed about the moment I would be able to kiss Becky Jean. The moment it happened I knew that nothing would ever top our two sets of lips coming together. But that didn't stop me from chasing that moment.

Kissing booths, making out with strangers, shocking my lips with electricity -- none of these options could bring the same spark to my life and lips that Becky Jean had.

To try to cover my obsession that was now more of a fetish, I began trying to use extra strength lip balm. It didn't work. I moved onto healing balms that promised immediate relief. While the swelling went down, there was no relief, and still no replacement for Becky Jean.

If only there was a way to get to Becky Jean. Who knows, maybe she's still alive, but I haven't heard from her in months. Her mother stated to the police that after her vacation to Hawaii she was sad, lonely, and in a bad place. Two weeks later she left all of her belongings behind and disappeared into the night.

Becky Jean won't be bringing a spark to anyone's lips anytime soon, at least not in the same way she had before. After all, how good is a set of lips if you're too dead to use them?

Sorry for the extremely dark freewrite today. I came up with the first line when thinking of the topic and this is what came out. Thanks for reading!


  • This freewrite is based on the prompt "dry lips," and part of the @mariannewest's daily freewriting challenge.

  • Love writing and sports? Join me on Scorum -- sports media on the blockchain. View my profile here

Sort:  

That did go dark - but I love it!! It always amazes me where prompts can take people :)

Thank you! Great prompt! My brain was allowed to run free, and boy did it ever! Glad to be back in the hang of freewriting with you guys.

Dry, chapped and weathered, my painful purple lips made me forget to use the Oxford comma I've come to know and love.

I chuckled at this because I actively rebel against the Oxford comma.

I also noticed a typo in the last line:

After all, how good is a set of lips if your too dead to use them?

That should be "you're" if I'm correct :)

Cheers!

~ Mako

Thanks! I'm torn on the Oxford comma, glad it gave you a laugh :-) I used to be 100% Team Oxford, now I'm more 60/40.

I too was 100% team Oxford but now I’m like 10/90 in favor of not using it haha. Only in cases of absolute ambiguity in meaning.

~ Mako

Love me some kissing booths.

lol, I don't think they are around too much these days

oh wow - giggle at the beginning and shock at the end! LOL

not too dark - but very entertaining little read :)

If you'd like to see my dry lips entry... here it is :)
Part 4

Thank you! Will check it out.

I appreciated your visit!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a free upvote from @reversed-bidbot! Follow me to earn steem by interacting with my promoted posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43