You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trolley day. 5 minute write

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

Aahahah ... Yeah, a trolley is exactly what you would call a tram in British English.

I can tell you so many stories like that. For example, in the US 20 pronounced as "twony". It is easier to say than "twenty" if you think about it. So once I had to call to England and told a hotel clerk "the room twony five". It took me a couple of repeats until I realized that I am not talking to an American. )))

As they say England and the United States - two countries separated by a common language. )))

Sort:  

Life in SA is similar - we have hilarious stories in the use of the word SERIOUS.
If it is used by a Zulu, A Xhosa, an Afrikaans speaker or in English one can lol and have a lot of fun.
Your story with the twony is very amusing - thank you.
I really enjoyed your last sentence.
You have a lovely sense of humour presented sometimes with the 'stiff upper lip' of a Brit which makes it even funnier.

Thank you!

I hope you will tell these stories. I wonder if you ever met people from the US south, those who speak with so-called "Southern droll." They are something to get used to. A confluence of people from different base languages who are trying to communicate could be very funny. I hope you will tell those stories about Zulu, A Xhosa, an Afrikaans.

I also have a really embarrassing story I got caught in because I didn't know the particular English idiom. Maybe I will tell it one day if I feel more comfortable.

In the meanwhile here is a funny video of a guy who demonstrates 67 accents in English

Some good lol moments - a talented young dude.
Thanks for the video = I will replay it.
To think I was brought up to speak the king's (in those days George the 5th??) English - considered the best......lol.
Oh my we are a pretentiouos lot!

That type of English (king's) is easiest to understand. It's not only because of the way the sentences are constructed and words are chosen. It's also how it is annunciated. I bet you when you speak you pronounce every word clearly and distinctly not like some people speak who sound like they have farina in their month. )))

Also, it has something else in it. As funny as it might seem, it carries an air of rich and powerful landowner... all those Glosters, Kents, Lancasters, Tudors, Stuarts, Windsors and so on...and in as much as a person could believe in democracy and equality of all people, King's English still has that hint of societal superiority. LOL

Here's another short funny language-oriented video. Watch it - you won't regret

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58484.86
ETH 3100.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40