Day 728: 5 Minute Freewrite: Friday - Prompt: Climber

in #freewrite5 years ago

For @mariannewest in @freewrite



These baboons climb the high slippery hill and descend from it every day as a life necessity.

I'd imagine our remote ancestors did the same until they discovered fire. Can't sleep on the ground because of lions and hyenas, can't sleep on trees because of leopards.

For the modern rock climbers, it's a sport and like any sport, it makes no direct survival sense. Of course, professional athletes are getting paid for sport so one can say that sport is their survival skill. But that is in a different sense that those baboons.

The human body hasn't been designed for sitting in cubicles, watching at the computer screens and eating fast food in McDonald's. It wasn't designed for getting stressed out from watching TV or microaggression. Fat storage was for purposed to have enough nutrition to survive several days of bad hunting rather than for promoting coronary diseases and obesity.

Sports are the compensatory actions for the lack of survival threat and stress that the body is experiencing during sporting activity is the type of stress our bodies were designed to handle. So climb on!

Source

Sort:  

Agreed. We are not designed to sit and do nothing. And TV is designed to keep our adrenaline levels up by constantly given us danger signals to keep the attention on the screen. So bad for us!!

I always feel that I am missing out on living my own life after watching too much television. for me that is above 2 hours!
I enjoy being entertained, informed and stimulated but have to get 'out there' myself, especially for a calming regenerative walk paddling in the waves, or even better going in for a swim.

Thank you! Sure enough. :)

I don't watch TV at all. I find most of the news channels are very biased and give more propaganda than news. :)

Lovely! I was up there climbing with the baboons but had to retire with the rock climber mgaft1!
I enjoyed your perceptive comments as well.
Good writing - well done.

Thank you! I would imagine you've seen baboons in your national park. I actually never rock climbed. My sport of preference were running and swimming.

I enjoyed that video about the baboons and elelphants, had a smile when the one baboon hung onto the other one's tail.
You did post your email address a couple of weeks back.
I cannot find it! I wonder if I could ask for your help regarding how to claim financial rewards. If you think it is better that we communicate by email then please post again and I will put my questions to you.
You have been so helpful in the past. Many thanks.

Sure. My email if just like my nickname - [email protected] )

Have you watched the movie : Alpha, it depict to an extent how the prehistoric men lived.

Am here to deliver the weekend freewrite prompt

Take it easy, just this one
Write, post, earn a living from this prompt
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-10-19-2019-single-prompt-option
The big boys coven, come one, come all
Pro-writers hide here often, using this prompt.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-10-19-2019-part-1-the-first-sentence
...
....
Do have a beautiful weekend.

Thanks! No, I didn't see "Alpha", but I saw "Quest For Fire" that was a good one. Thank you for suggesting the move. I will watch it.

Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68571.56
ETH 3910.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66