Day 711: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: civil rights

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

For @mariannewest in #freewrite

From https://www.pexels.com


Civil Rights? Is it like freedom of speech or something? Yeah.

Nowadays, it's a dangerous thing to blubber whatever comes to your mind. There are many very sensitive groups of people that could feel offended by what you say. And since it's hard to objectify what can be perceived as offensive, one better sensor his free speech, sort of channel it in the subset of the entire range of speech where one could still be free to say whatever he or she wants, as long as it coincides with what is acceptable to say on that respect in the contemporary society.

For example, you are free to express your dislike of the president of the United States. I remember one old joke about it from Cold War times.

American and Russian guys started to argue, which country had more freedom of speech. An American guy said:

"I can come to DC and scream 'Reagan get out of the White House!' and no one would do me anything"

The Russian guy retorted

"Big deal. I can come to Red Square and scream 'Reagan get out of the White House!' and no one would do me anything either".

Personally, I like the freedom of thought. You can think whatever you want and, as long as you don't voice your thoughts, you are completely fine.

So far that is. Who knows what the future will entail?

Sort:  

This is a very different society we now exist in. It worries me what my grandkids will experience for a society. Nice freewrite.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! Yeah...really...

I like freedom of thought. : ) You can even reply to what you are thinking. LOL!

Resident cat here, wondering what you will be having to say about baby talk.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-712-5-minute-freewrite-dwednesay-prompt-baby-talk

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

Thank you! I see you've just replied to my thoughts and I am glad you weren't offended. )))

I'll certainly participate in the new prompt.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56766.86
ETH 2492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36