Day 677: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: burnt skin

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

For @mariannewest in #freewrite


Burned skin made me think of Giordano Bruno. Certainly, in his case it was not only the skin that gotten burned, but well, in the fame reference of this post, it was collateral damage.

Like Copernicus and Galileo, Bruno supported geocentric astronomical views. Unlike them, however, he didn’t hide them like Copernicus and didn’t denounce them like Galileo and was burned at a stake. Many commentators in 19 and 20th century regarded him as a martyr of science.

Truth to be told Bruno was not burned for his astronomical views, but because of his denial of several core Catholic doctrines, including eternal damnation, the Trinity, the divinity of Christ, the virginity of Mary, and transubstantiation. So much for stubborn Bruno.

That and I also happened to burn my fingers. But in a much lesser daunting setting than the court of Holly Inquisition. )))

Sort:  

So do tell. How did this unholy singeing occur?

Do you mean why did they single out Giordano Bruno? He was a remarkable person, a mathematician, a philosopher and uncompromising when it came to his convictions, literally ready to die for them. That's what eventually has happened.

If you are asking in regards to how I burned my fingers... then I just forgot the pan on the stove and grabbed it. Quickly realized that the pan was too hot to hold, immediately dropped it, but the skin was still burned. It took some time before it fell off and the new one replaced it. )))

The latter; singeing as in burning, unholy referring to in a much lesser daunting setting that the court of Holy Inquisition. I know. I'm too clever for my own good:)

Ouch -- for Bruno -- and for you!

Thanks for stopping by and commiserating! )

You're welcome ... I was passing through who had freewritten with my very last ability to give $0.01 upvotes and enjoyed your story...

Wow! Thank you. You never know what can people like. Sometimes I spend much time and effort and people just eh... This one I actually spent not more than 5 minutes.

Glad that you liked it. It worth $1000 for me.

You're welcome ... it IS unpredictable, what people decide they like. One of my first big hits was also one of the shortest and fastest written -- a freewrite of 264 words. That STILL might be my biggest payout to date.

I learned from my time in the music world ... do 20 things, and one will be a hit. That is, in freewriting terms: write every day of the week for three weeks. One will hit, for sure. OR, write twice a day, and every 10 days, one will hit. I have even tried putting content here three times a day -- in seven days, therefore. The formula DOES roughly hold...

I've read some of your free-writes. You have a very light, fluid and easygoing style. And yes you are right about the formula. 👍

Thank you for the kind compliments!

hahahaha! Interesting what our minds do for freewrites.

True. Our mind is the most interesting place in our body. )

Thank you! Having been called this, I am glad you live today and not in the sixteen century... )))

I feel for Bruno and all the others who died and die because of religion and in name of a God. 🥺

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, I will gladly second that. What a pity!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62856.64
ETH 2425.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67