Day 643: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: suffocate

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

for @mariannewest in #freewrite


I was about seven or eight. Back then and was in a summer camp. One of those hot summer days, all the children went
to the river. I didn’t know how to swim yet so I went as far as being my neck in water. A riverboat passed by and casing some waves. Being ultimately small, they nevertheless went over my head, lifted me and suspended in the water. I started to flounder, flapping my hands and feet in the water, which propelled me forward away from the shore. In deeper water, I immediately started sinking and clearly remember that suffocating feeling. As my feet were touching the bottom of the river, I pushed hard and rose up. I tied to scream, but once I opened my mouth water poured in and I was going through the suffocating cycle.

Not sure how long was I be able to fight like this. Luckily, someone on the shore noticed that I was sinking and some older guy or a man swam to pull me from the water. I only remember him grabbing me by very hard and that it was painful. Nevertheless, he pulled me from the water and laid me on the shore. I was so stupefied that I didn’t know I should thank him for my rescue. I did it though after someone reminded me about it.

Sort:  

so terrifying. I'm sure he understood.

Yeah, this wasn't fun. Thank you!

Been there! Horrific.
Every time i snorkel I have to concentrate not to panic when I rely on breathing through the apparatus.
A good description

Thank you. Yeah, this sounds kind of scary now, in retrospect. However, it wasn't scary while it lasted. You simply don't experience any other emotions except for the desire to survive. )

I've had two bad near drowning experiences, so I know what you were experiencing! That's why I panic when I'm out of my depth!

Yeah, that was quite unpleasant indeed. I hope you've graduated from the "drowning" academy and from now on we won't have to do that schooling anymore. Better spend your time reading books, eating chocolate and listening to cat's purring )))

OOh, those are all neat things to do! I still swim in the pool with no problems, but in the open sea, I still panic. That's why this freewrite prompt drew me in after bein away from steemit for so long!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97