Freewrite #89 The Steam Punk Duck

in #freewrite7 years ago

034F5C94-28F1-47CD-BB4E-B2EC4F45D741.pngOriginal Art by @marianaart edited using Canva

They called him the Steam Punk Duck even though he was made out of wood.

He had started as a project for the green parade. All participants were to create a float using only up cycled materials. It was a waste of a green theme. The people who put it together hadn’t thought it out too well. The purpose of repurposing products is not to make more blind consumption, it is to create something useful from our waste.

But the parade had been deemed a good idea and now these “green” floats were being pulled around by big gas using trucks.

And the parade route was lined with latex balloons. Biodegradable latex balloons of course, as if that made a difference.

“Biodegradable latex balloons degrade as fast as oak leaves!” The ballon person had stated. I guess they didn’t know that oak leaves took 4 years to degrade.

The trash...


That was freewrite #89! Thank you @mariannewest for hosting and thank you to all the readers who stop by and encourage/comment. I visit you back ❤️

Make sure to check out my blog for more original writing.

Sort:  

great Freewrite!!! really liked where you went with this :D

Thank you. I thought I was going to write about a restaurant in LA I know with steampunk decorations. I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived at the parade.

Oooh, this left me wanting more!

It was gonna go on to describe the trash that the “green parade” had generated.

Thanks for stopping by.

Spoken right out of my heart! So much is labeled "green" which is so far from it!!

Very interesting and sad story.Good job on it.

Thank you. There have been a range of responses to your artwork. Must be fun.

Yes it is fun. I love to draw :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67095.54
ETH 3462.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71