Freewrite- summer afternoons

in #freewrite7 years ago

Prompt Hide, so people can't find you @mariannewest

The mulberry tree in the backyard had one low hanging branch that made it easy to climb . One day, when no one was watching she had taken a pair of pruning shears up in the tree with her and trimmed back all of the little pokey branches and twigs to make herself a comfortable place to sit, surrounded by the deep green leaves. Laying her book up on one of the easy to reach branches, and with a quick glance around to make sure that no one was looking, she could swing herself up there, get comfortable, and read for the entire afternoon. No one would interrupt. Some days she could finish an entire book while sitting and listening to the breeze blow through the leaves. She could watch her little brother building roads in the sandbox, but he never thought to look up, so he had not seen her hiding up there, avoiding all interruptions!
A Catbird had buit a nest, and although she had not seen the construction, she had seen the three blue eggs, and had quietly shared the tree with the momma bird as she sat keeping her eggs warm. It almost seemed like the bird welcomed her company.

Her mother had a surprised look on her face when she came out and.called and she saw her daughter climbing back down out of the tree late in the afternoon. 'I had no idea you were up there. Come in and get ready for dinner'.

image

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

I just resteemed your post but if you don’t like to be resteemed just leave me a reply and I will unfollow and stop resteeming your posts immediately. I’m not a spammer… just read what this is all about here

Great how the bird trusted her! Same as me with the Loeries here! We now have 5 of them. Known as very wild I will soon have them eating out of my hand! Your story is beautiful! Congrats! Oh! And Upvoted Lady Melinda! Good night!

Thanks, Steven!! You are sweet....Steemit challenges me in lots of ways!

Very sweet story. She was hidden from her mother, but not from the bird :) thanks for sharing.

So I'm not alone! I use to climb a big ole tree when I was young and sit up there and read. It was a reprieve from my four brothers constantly bugging me.

I rather miss being able to read in trees! Now I settle for reading under them!

My old rickety self couldn't make it up a tree anymore. But I do have a tree stump I sit on by a creek on my property that is heavenly.

I have a creek that runs right under my bedroom window....I can lay in bed and hear the water. I avoid ticks and mosquitoes that way. I've turned into a bit of a wimp in my old age !

I'm convinced we must be related, haha.

Oh, good! I've been in the market for a sister all my life!

Haha, I'm the only girl outta five. A sister would be nice.

I had only one younger brother. He had a heart attack and died 10 years ago. I hate being an only 'child'.

That was so great!! Don't ever tell me again that you are not a writer! You so are!!!

Awww, you are sweet! I love to read, and know how poor my efforts are compared to the authors I read. But 5 minutes I can attempt!

Ha! I used to climb trees,before I realized I was afraid of heights.
Now you can't get me to go up on a the first rung of a step ladder.

Excellent view

Thank you.... Are your photos ones that you have taken yourself? You must post original content to be successful here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56705.83
ETH 2400.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30