Freewrite Day 10 - Splinter

in #freewrite7 years ago

Freewrite Day 10 Splinter @mariannewest

I could see splinters of glass in his hair and covering his shirt. He had pounded on the door, and I turned the porch light on and recognized the neighbor from across the street. He was crying and asking to use the phone. I was home alone, but let him in and, in the days before 911, I found the phone number for the police department at the front of the phonebook. He told the officer on the phone that he had been beaten up and they assured him they would send a squad car right over. I was just a kid , and had absolutely no idea what to do for him. He waited on the porch until the squad car arrived.

image

They were good neighbors. My mom referred to them as the 'bachelor's', and that night was my first realization that they were a couple.
My mom checked in on them after she got home, and assured me that I had done everything necessary and that they had a fight, but would be OK.
After that, I still waved when I saw either of them in the yard, but in our 1960's small town their relationship was an eye opener for me. Mom still dropped off plates of her home-baked goodies, and they came by to borrow tools from dad. The years passed, and the bachelor's moved away, but their ending was not a good one. I saw the newspaper article about the murder/suicide that involved an ax and a hanging, and wished there could.have been another neighbor close by who could have helped with a phone call to the police.

Sort:  

@minnowpondblue has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

I guess this not just the end of the story...nice one anyway

It is a word prompt, and you are supposed to write for only 5 minutes . Today's word was 'splinter'

its beautiful

Gave me goosebumps!

Ha! Glad it pulled you in that much! Thanks so much for taking the time to read it, my friend! ❤

Very deep and well written memory :-)

I couldn't tell if it was fiction or a true story. I see what you mean about making a mistake. Yes, the prompt is "Splinter." I thought a splinter was the thing you use to keep bones straight. Hahahahah When in actuality it is the little piece of wood that gets stuck in the ​skin. Oh well, we will get them next time. :)

At least you were close! Splint/splinter easy mistake to make!😃

sweetie, the beauty about a freewrite is that you take it wherever your brain or your typing fingers want to go. If it bothers you, just fix it to splint. all good!! Hugs to you.

this was a wonderful read!

Thanks so much!!💕

Thanks, Birju! Hope you have a good week!

This, my friend, is a very heavy story. so powerful and so much to think about. what kind of stress they must have been under in a small town in the 60s. Fiction or truth, no matter. Thank you so much for being a freewriter!! https://busy.org/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-11-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-sleep

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

I just resteemed your post but if you don’t like to be resteemed just leave me a reply and I will unfollow and stop resteeming your posts immediately. I’m not a spammer… just read what this is all about here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49