Five-Minute-Freewrite-Children

in #freewrite6 years ago

I pull up to the school and the kids pile out. It happens every day. It will happen again tomorrow. They leave what I think is the safety of my supervisory eye and move into the deep unknown. At least it’s unknown to me. In the school they learn something, there's no way for me to know. Values and ideas that are not my own. But responsibility for the things they do, the lives they live, some of that at least is mine. They are the product of my life, my example, my teaching. I think it's fair for me to be at least somewhat concerned about what is happening with them.

Don't think I'm the helicopter parent, following them around with a first aid kit and an ice-cream cone. That's simply not the case. In fact, I'm far from that. Very far. I err more on the side of being free-range. But in the end, I'm tempted. Tempted to keep my kids in, under my consistent gaze to ensure their safety from ideas that I've found to be fraudulent. From the destructive forces of the world. I can't do that though. I need to allow them to grow and err just as my parents did with me.

Sort:  

A very good freewrite. Interesting all the way.

Thanks! I appreciate the encouragement. I used the most dangerous writing app for this one. It was a little weird being under a time limit and having to write or risk losing what was just posted.

It's a handy little thing alright if a bit nerve-racking.

Parenting is so full of moments like these. You did a great job of capturing the whole feel we often have as parents. Great post!

Today I am helping @mariannewest out and leaving the link to today’s #freewrite prompt! https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-91-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-board

That sounds like some good, balanced parenting to me! 👍

Isn't it the truth. We can't protect our kids. Just give them a good foundation, trust them and be there to catch them if we need to. Parenting is hard!!

Congratulations @martinwbender! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @martinwbender! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67962.69
ETH 3852.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66