You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 5 Minute Freewrite - the military

in #freewrite6 years ago

Liked your post very much. I can't stand this argument that young people need (more) structure in their lives and the military service makes you man. The first thing it teaches young men is to obey blindly...
Anyway, a much yummier prompt today:https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-114-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-frosting-a-cake

Sort:  

I can't stand this argument that young people need (more) structure in their lives and the military service makes you man. The first thing it teaches young men is to obey blindly...

Being someones puppet actually seems rather backwards to me of what being a "man" or masculine is. I've thought that masculinity is about being independent (not listening to others!) and protecting others. But who am I to say this, I probably don't know shit. But honestly it doesn't seem like very masculine thing to do to abandon one's own values because someone else says you must do this and that. But nobody cares about that stuff; the meter of masculinity (or manliness, not the same thing, but in this case I guess they're intertwined) seems to be the ability to endure mentally and physically challenging tasks. Funnily, when following this criteria, being a single parent of multiple children seems like the most masculine thing to do (working potentially multiple jobs and all the troubles of parenting).

Btw, perfect timing since I was just navigating to today's prompt :D

Your views on military service and politics seem, to be blunt, uneducated and childish. There is nothing unmanly in obedience so long as it is not absolute. Following orders is an exercise in discipline. To bear responsibility, a man must first learn discipline. To lead, a man must learn to follow. That isn't to say a man must follow blindly, without question. Critical thinking is key. A good soldier is not only allowed, but has a duty to disobey orders that contradict with his conscience. Likewise, he has a duty to overcome his innate hedonistic tendencies and to do what is necessary; not only that which is expedient. That is what they teach in the military. Schools, on the other hand, are doing an awful job at teaching critical thinking.

I will have to read your writings on civil service. Hopefully those are less blissfully ignorant.

Firstly, thanks for your input!

Your views on military service and politics seem, to be blunt, uneducated and childish.

Definitely, if my comment was a serious statement, which it isn't. It was written in a moment when all I did was splash my words on paper, like in the freewrite. I'm aggravating and generalizing on purpose, poking myself and others.

When I make serious statements I think things through from different angles, before forming an opinion. And if I have an opinion, I don't reject other views before examining them, at least I try, I'm still only a human.

Following orders is an exercise in discipline. To bear responsibility, a man must first learn discipline. To lead, a man must learn to follow. That isn't to say a man must follow blindly, without question. Critical thinking is key. A good soldier is not only allowed, but has a duty to disobey orders that contradict with his conscience. Likewise, he has a duty to overcome his innate hedonistic tendencies and to do what is necessary; not only that which is expedient.

I fully get this side of the argument.

I will have to read your writings on civil service. Hopefully those are less blissfully ignorant.

I appreciate if you do! The only one of those that actually considers military is the first one in which I explain things more objectively, not throwing unsophisticated views. The others are more or less on a personal level of me.

Schools, on the other hand, are doing an awful job at teaching critical thinking.

That I fully agree with.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67904.70
ETH 3244.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66