Peak

in #freewrite5 years ago

o0ugmyshsk.jpg

I took a peek out of the tent flap and drew back in alarm. It was dark last night when we got here and all I could think about was bears and food and that my breasts were leaking and I couldn't get them up into a tree like the food we brought. The bundle was safely up in the tree and apparently, I was alive too. Panic for nothing.
But the panic I felt glancing up at the peak was real. I had known that it was high. Many, many feet in elevation but in my mind's eye, the trek up there had been an easy thing to do.
Now, I was faced with the reality of a big fucking mountain in front of me. The goal was to get up and down in one day. Back to the tent. Back to another night I probably wasn't going to be able to sleep.
I had thought that the time was right now. The time that nursing kids couldn't be my excuse anymore to stay home. They were "older" now. Whatever older means to people. Some think that a 6-month-old is too old to nurse and others say that the normal time of weaning used to be 6 years or older.
And then there is everything in between. My youngest was in between and up to now, all our trips had been a team sport. All of us together. I had gotten good at carrying a heavy load and it seemed a good time to set out on that camping/hiking trip my husband had wanted to do for years now.
I was not prepared for the fear I felt at night when my breast started leaking out of the blue. Bears have been known to slice through tents and look for the yummy food they were smelling. I didn't want to be their snack.
And I was not prepared for the steep path in front of me.

Freewrite.png

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

I am adding the CC tag to all prompt posts and to most of my other posts as well. You can earn Comment Coins simply by leaving a good comment. No spam please!!!

Freewrite.png

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.
Graphics made on Canva.

Freewrite.png

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Animation By @zord189

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Freewrite.png

Join @Actifit, become healthier by being active and earn as you walk. My referral link

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!! Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

And get your Freewrite House Swag here

Sort:  

As a member of the @Council - Community Curator Service, this post has received a 100.00% upvote.

Members of the community can all chip in to Power UP. Become a member, delegate 10 or more Steem Power (SP) to @Council to receive upvote and resteem. Here's the link to delegate https://on.king.net/council10sp it will redirect to Steem Connect for a secure connection. We share the Steem Power of all members that delegate to Community Curator Service, sharing our SP for a stronger upvote.

Thank you.
Project Powered by Steemians

Wow -- that took me on a journey I did not expect! Nice!

Me too 😀😀😀😜

Well m' dear, I read a lot of free writes as you know, and this must rank up there with the weirdest of them. It sounds like a disturbing nightmare that jolted you from sleep and you grabbed a pen and wrote it down. Either this or it is the product of a very strange mind indeed;)

Strange mind lol 🤣

My breasts are leaking too 😁 👀

Watch for bears!!!! 😂

Watch out for the bears @mariannewest, this was a very different story, well done, it's awesome.


This post is AWESOME!

It has therefore got a manual 100% upvote from @thisisawesome, for the Awesome Daily Upvotes in category Freewrite, I give out 1 such vote in that category per day, plus 3 more in other categories, and your post will also be featured in todays Awesome Daily report for more visibility.

The goal of this project is to "highlight Awesome Content, and growing the Steem ecosystem by rewarding it".

Thanks @mariannewest, and you are creating awesome content, plus you run an awesome project, keep it up.

Thank you so much! Trying my best LOL

I remember the days of leaking breasts, but I was never in a situation where it caused me to worry about bears. Just damp-in-embarrassing-places clothing. I agree with @deirdyweirdy: this was a most unusual freewrite!

hahaha - well, I actually once went camping with a nursing baby and insisted on staying in a cabin because I was worried about bears. That night, one came to the cabin and we saw the prints around in the morning and one - maybe the same one - had gone to a campsite and destroyed a cooler :)

Oh dear. That would put a damper on one's tenting urges!

I would not be happy with a bear either 🙁

Posted using Partiko Android

I know!! They can do some serious harm 😂

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 5 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 2 SBD worth and should receive 172 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63632.98
ETH 2727.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58