Grief

in #freewrite6 years ago

Freewrite (8).png

I am grieving today. I am grieving for my little dog Boya who slipped out of her collar as I was going to take her for a walk and run right in front of a car.
She was gone right away - for that, I am grateful. But I haven't stopped crying since it happened and I am surprised at myself. After all, she is - was a dog. Not a human.
But her death came at a time where I am in a big stage of reevaluating what I am doing with my life and - that is a whole long story I am not ready to share in public. Let's say that we all come to stages in our lives where things are changing or need to change.
Of course one is becoming an adult, then for many, becoming a parent - and then, becoming obsolete as a parent.
And then, - well the list goes on. and I am at a point of looking how I have lived my life and how I want it to be from here on out.
Back to Boya. She was my buddy. I am sitting in my chair on the patio where I write a lot of the Steemit post - and until last night, she would be sitting right next to me. Maybe running off when a bird comes too close to chase it around a bit.
If anything new entered our space - she was on the alert. The other day, two parrots came by to have a sunflower snack from one of the many tall sunflowers growing out here.
she went crazy! Trying to climb that sunflower to get to those birds.
My little Boya was a small dog with a big personality and right now, I am missing her terribly. At the same time, I am a bit ashamed of how hard I am griefing - after all, my sister just lost her husband and there is no comparison. And so many suffer in the world. So, with my grief, I feel guilty for even going there when so many suffer so deeply.
Life can be so messed up sometimes.

IMG_2022.jpg

Sort:  

Sending Love and Light!

Of course all loss is felt, and you shouldn't feel bad for feeling one loss over another in any single moment. Loss is loss and loss has a purpose, we are not eternal, this physical form is ephemeral, nothing lasts forever! And all loss reminds of of this, life ripped from us, change forced upon us.

We love you, and that will never change. Boya loved you, and so she still does. Not even loss can stop love!

Thank you Alex. Isn't that the truth. Change is constant and we never know what the next trigger is.

Love and Light to you as well.

Grief is completely understandable. Dogs are part of the family. There is a gap. Someone, who was part of your daily 'routine is gone'.
Don't make it smaller just because other people have what seems bigger grief.
I am sorry for your loss.

Thank you so much. A lot has changed without her here.

I'm very sorry for your loss. It's perfectly reasonable to feel grief when losing a companion. Don't be ashamed of it.

Thank you so much

Oh, such a sweet dog! So sorry for you, Marianne. No need to feel guilty, all people who have ever had a pet understand exactly what you're going through. And I hope whatever re-evaluating you're doing there turns out well.

Thank you so much. And I also am hoping for a good outcome - for some kind of result- from this deep turmoil I am in.

I don't think you should feel guilty about grieving your friend. That in NO way takes anything away from your sister's loss or in any way diminishes your empathy for her.

You just simply lost a really good friend unexpectedly. Human or animal, the loss is just as real and profound.

I'd like to say the magic words, but I just don't know them. I'll just say this "I am so sorry for your loss and feel the emptiness inside you."

Thank you so much for your kind words.

My dear friend I am so very sorry to hear of the loss of your beloved Boya.

Sending you waves of comfort. I could go on for hours about the loss of my siberian husky, Sasha on January 2nd 2014. Sasha was 14 and a half years old and lost complete use of her back hips. I had to take her in and put her down. I held her in my arms when she received the injection. Her loss was, and it is, like losing a child. I understand your desire to compare it to the loss of your brother-in-law, it's true there is really no comparison, but that does not minimize your own hurt of losing a trusted companion that you love. I will also be praying for comfort for your sister in her grief. Know that I'm here if you ever need to talk.

Janelle, thank you. You have such a kind soul.

Hugs...my heart knows.

I am so sorry for your loss of your little Boya. Grieving is a personal experience and you shared your life with your four-footed friend. It is normal to feel the sorrow. That does not take away from anyone else's grief. Do not feel guilty for your grief. Own it. It is yours to experience and how you do that is up to you.

Thank you so much.

I'm so sorry to hear that, but just know that you shouldn't feel guilty. You lost someone dear to you, whether that be a person or an animal, and you shouldn't feel guilty for that feeling. The love that you put into that person or animal is still there and always will be there. Don't try to compare your grief to those who may seem to have lost something more significant. Pain is relative, and no matter what there is no measurement for pain. Pain hurts like anyone else's pain and it always will. But just know that Boya is in a peaceful place, her time with you has come to an end but that's okay. Feel free to grieve, that grief is necessary to move past your loss. Best wishes :)

Thank you. I too hope that Boya is in a peaceful place.

Just seeing her happy face brings a tear. I know she had a good life with you and enjoyed her time there. Well done!

I hope so. I really do.

I'm so very sorry for your loss of Boyo... and you have every right to grieve... Let noone tell any different.. He was your little pal.. Hugs from Ireland x

Thank you for the hugs!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67876.87
ETH 3852.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65