You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Inappropriately dressed (Day 731: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday Prompt)

in #freewrite5 years ago

Awesome memory... We were in the same predicament when I was growing up... it was before government-welfare... We survived because our neighbors cared about each other. I never had any new clothes, except shoes Mom insisted my feet needed new shoes. My clothes were all hand-me-downs from my cousin, who sadly was not careful about staining her clothes or putting mothballs into the wools and felts.... lol... my "poodle skirt" was all moth-eaten, but my mother cut up an old shirt and made leaves which she carefully handstitched on the holes... It's amazing how creative our mothers were when there was no other option!

Sort:  

Then @mamasez we are soulmates in clothes. The only clothes I had were hand-me-downs from my two older sisters. One was taller and larger. The other, taller and skinner. Mom couldn't adjust them too much because I was shorter and somewhere in the middle. .It's amazing how our moms spun a lot out of so little. I'll never forget the sacrifice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59368.30
ETH 2461.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45