Heat Haze Daze

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Part 1

image

I opened my eyes, sighing, then I turned towards the digital clock on the end table.

August 13, 12:00 nn.

I groaned as I rubbed my eyes. The cicadas' cries were deafening and the heat had kept me from having a good night's rest. The only thing that was keeping me cool was the stand fan right next to my bed and the window I left open to let fresh air in, yet I was still sweating non-stop. I wiped a bit of sweat from my forehead then closed my eyes and started to concentrate on falling asleep when, suddenly, my mom called me from downstairs.

"Aya has come to play!"

Oh, right...


After eating lunch, Aya and I went to the park that was just a few blocks away from my house. It had a small playground composed of a swing set, slides, monkey bars, and a lone sandbox that stood in the middle of the grounds.

"What do you want to play?" I asked her.

"Hmm... I don't think we'll be able to play today." She replied.

"Why?"

"It was unusual of you to still be in your room at noon. You must be really tired."

"I'm not that tired..." I reassured her.

"I think the swing would be fine." She grinned as she ran off and sat on one of the swings. I followed her and sat on the vacant swing next to her.

"Why did you wake up so late anyway? That's not healthy you know." She started as she played with the hem of her blouse.

"I'm not really a fan of the summer heat." I laughed nervously.

I was expecting a reply from her but was dumbfounded with none. I turned to her and she was eyeing on a young black cat on the other side of the playground.

"Let's go pet that cat! It seems friendly." I said and started to walk over to the cat that was sitting on the sidewalk, Aya quietly walked behind me.

The cat was indeed very friendly and even let us pet it. Aya wanted to make the cat sit on her lap, so she started to lift the cat with both hands. But then it struggles free from her hold and runs towards the street and she chases it when the sign turns red and a truck immediately collides with her small body. Blood was everywhere; and everything happened so fast that my vision went hazy as the people started gathering around Aya's body. I squeezed my way from the crowd only to find her now distorted body. I felt sick to the stomach at the sight and the world seemed to turn faster in pace then everything just went black.

"This is reality."


I awoke to find myself in bed, heart beating fast, and sweating like crazy as if I had awoken from a nightmare. My memories of yesterday was quite a blur but I do remember Aya was hit by a truck in broad daylight, how her blood sprayed everywhere, and her unrecognizable corpse in the middle of the street.

The heat was unforgiving and the cicadas were loud as always. I sighed as I turned to check the digital clock on the end table.

August 13, 12:00 nn.

Part 2

image
My mind was perplexed. Did that mean everything was just a dream? Was it going to happen? If so, can I prevent Aya from dying? I got up and went to the bathroom to wash my face until I heard my mother call from downstairs.

"Aya has come to play!"

Right.


I ate lunch and we headed on to the playground. Everything looked normal. Everything looked the same from my dream. I made sure to ask Aya the same question to confirm it.

"What do you want to play?" I asked her.

"Hmm... I don't think we'll be able to play today." She replied.

My throat went dry.

"Hey... Aya?"

"Yes?"

"Yesterday, in a dream, I saw us in this exact same park." I confessed. There was no use hiding it from her. If she was going to die this day, I know how she'll die and I can prevent it.

"Really? What happened?"

I gulped and said, "Nothing big really."
"I say let's go home." I added.

"Then can we play in your house, Hiro?" She asked.

"Sure!"

I took her hand and patiently waited for the pedestrial signal to go green. As soon as it did, we crossed the street where there was a building being constructed. The moment we stepped off of the pathway, the people around us turned their heads in alarm towards the sky where they pointed and screamed,

"WATCH OUT!"

I turned to what they were all looking at and what beheld my eyes was a pole falling from the construction site and pierced through Ayano's body. I stared helplessly as her blood splattered on the ground and on me. My ears started to only hear the ticking of clocks, my gut unable to hold itself. I felt the world turning faster around me, everything was a blur but before I blacked out... I thought I saw her corpse smiling at me.

"This is reality."


I opened my eyes to the sound of my clock ticking and cicadas chirping. Fearing the worst, I turned to my clock.

August 13, 12:00 nn.


It feels like I've been waking up to the same date for decades and trying to prevent Aya from dying. But... No matter how much and how hard I try, she'd always die. No matter where I took her. I even told her about what was to come one time, but the end was always the same. This day would not pass without her being severly mutilated.

This story must have a new ending.

Aya and I went to the same park. Used the same swing, Petted the same cat. And just as the cat ran away and the light turns red, I oushed her aside and the truck slammed onto my body.

If this is what you'd call a normal summer day then it ends now.

Part 3

image
On the morning of August 13, Aya wakes up.

"I failed this time, too."She says as she cradles a cat on her lap.


I can definitely feel the summer heat wave today. It's really hot!!! (;´Д`)
This heat is what drove me to write this.
Also, this is originally a song but I decided to turn it into a narrative (○-○)b

Author's comment: Fear not the heat haze daze

Sort:  

This makes me remember the book and movie, "Before I Fall" :)

Hooo grabe the wordsss ang lalimm hahahaha very nice tho

Hooo grabe the wordsss ang lalimm hahahaha very nice tho

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56688.84
ETH 2388.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28