What Do We Breathe?

in #freewrite6 years ago

Coffee drinkers and smokers and Sabbath day breakers are all against our values, I was told repeatedly as a child. Not only my own parents, but my primary teacher on Wednesday, the school teachers and principals who were all Mormon too and whomever was standing on the pulpit Sunday mornings.

Even though nothing smells quite as nice as French Press in the morning, as a teen, the smell of someone ahead of us smoking on the ski lift was best, out in the expanse of frosted fairytale forest, the blue and bright skies breathed in like thin mints after gargling with Scope wintery fresh. Such positive associations compared to being drilled on health, the backs of our naked knees, always in dresses, pinching as we shifted on metal foldable chairs circled in painted white cinderblock rooms with rust-colored carpet. A three-hour forced sit with no downhill-run to make up for it.

As a child, I related the smell of cigarettes to freedom and fun because I smelled them at all of the exciting places away from church, like at Lagoon where we ran from white rollercoaster to Dracula’s castle, or my new, best friends in ninth grade Jochen and Thomas, the German foreign-exchange students who came with exotic packs, later sharing the .89 cent Benson & Hedges I’d spent my lunch money on.

My own non-member grandpa had smoked a sweet smelling pipe, but he lived free or die across all of the states and I’d only met him a few times, the smell of smoke and candied apples, my brother and I throwing dime after dime in order to win our own glass-blue-ashtrays at the park during Onion Days, or when Hollywood had come to film Footloose and the eye-liner wearing camera guy French inhaled as he asked my younger brother and I about our lives in this weird little town.

My great grandparents are the set I had the most contact with and they would occasionally have a real “cup,” but most of the time they had Postum the drink they’d drop two sugar cubes into, the coffee stand-in, the same with near-beer and my Dad, for that every-once-in-a-while, I can’t take it at the steel mill any longer, the foreman with a head of ham who has seniority, the mill which employed half of “happy valley,” the glowing slag pour made its own smoke, the kind that made us all hate the EPA, only knowing they were the army that would take away our Dads’ paychecks, back-to-school jeans.

We plugged our noses as we passed the plant during winter, the dead atmosphere of the inversion, the exhaust of 1-15, everyone requiring station wagons and ram vans in order to travel to Trafalga for miniature golf on family night.

A valley in which most all were Mormon if only by association, descendants of the pioneers, married one, neighbored by on all sides, baptized at eight, or name and a blessing because there’s almost nobody, active or not, coffee cup in hand or a pack hidden in the garden shed, who doesn’t bless an innocent baby, just in case, and who hasn't heard the admonishment of the Prophet Joseph's words of wisdom.

Please reference the church video below if you'd like a greater understanding of the Word of Wisdom and/or also, if you want a link into my own childhood psychological make-up :)

https://www.lds.org/media-library/video/2010-06-32-chapter-31-the-word-of-wisdom-february-1833?lang=eng#

Photo Credits: Shwa Hall & Nik MacMillan/unsplash
Video Credit: LDS media library

Sort:  

I like the way you writing you make me feel some good vibes about smells and about your childhood, great post =)

Oh, good! Glad you enjoyed reading :)

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

That was a very interesting read! I love your descriptions, especially

the blue and bright skies breathed in like thin mints after gargling with Scope wintery fresh.

I've been on ski lifts in the mountains and I know what you mean!

Your story left me wondering whether you liked or resented your Mormon upbringing, and whether you still adhere to all you were taught back then. You don't need to reply to that if you don't want to; I just thought it was good that you left the reader wondering a few things.

Your story also reminded me of a forgotten aspect of my own childhood: we lived about 20 miles upriver from a paper mill, and if the wind was just right we could smell it at our house. Driving through that town was a smelly business, as was shopping there!

:) Glad my writing brought back some of your own childhood memories!

My husband is ex - Mormon and half of his kids are very religious and the other half not so much. So interesting what kind of baggage we are all given by our parents...
I know you are away, but when you come back, please join us :)
https://discord.gg/PDKtMPY

Yes, each life is very complex depending on so many things: religion, sociological influences, advertising, geography, all of us like our own unique art projects. So interesting to consider how we each become specifically who we are.

We can only try...

I love your writing style. Very VERY well written and I couldn't take my eyes off it!

Thank you so much!

off the topic: would it be a good suggestion to make a closing note under all free write-articles of yours to see where one gets the prompt? I have a hard time remembering it and would like to know from whom again I receive the word?

This one free write of yours I like in particular. It must have to do with smoking:) Nowadays I like the smoke of cigars. Or "moods" which have a sweet smell. If they weren't so expensive and not so unusual to look at - in particular when you are female - I would switch from cigarettes to cigars.

Hi there, Erika :)
Sorry for the delayed response. I was away a week or more to attend my son's wedding :)
Yes, much about smoking, but I think the prompt was something else, just where my mind went. Prompts come daily from @mariannewest if you want see/try one.
I can see you with a cigar! And, I like the image :) You are a strong woman and so it seems fitting. I've only taken a couple puffs off of cigars. Maybe, one day, we will share one?

Hey Kimberly,

no problem! I hope you had a good time at your son's wedding?! :))

HaHa!! Yes, I would love to share a good tasting cigar with you. Let's see what life is offering us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62863.58
ETH 2464.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62