Tributes

in #freewrite6 years ago

cherries.jpg

Cherries, and cheery, memories, wrapped round the regal purple flesh of summers’ promise of warmth and fourth of July parades, tree climbing for Royal Ann’s, Bing and pie, in Grandma Christensen’s back yard, or the Seattle tree, I climbed into the crook at four, added a grouping on two connected green stems into a little leather treasure pouch with pull string, along with a single, shiny copper penny and a plastic horse of white with permanent blowing mane.

I’d waited and waited for my Daddy to come home, swinging his black lunch box up the walk, me running and throwing my arms around his great neck, begging him to make a guess what treasures I kept hidden there. And, he soon would deduce all three, like magic, after asking me animal, vegetable, mineral, only a few questions along with my little hints, weren’t too difficult a code for him to crack.

At fourteen I’d gotten a job picking cherries, all day long, in the blinding sun, rows and rows, we’d (feel) a half pallet and each was worth $14 of pay, I soon found that took me almost all of a day. Was that half a ton, or? I remember picking as fast as my young hands could and one lucky day, only once, made one and a half, a twenty-one dollar day!

Sort:  

That's a ton of picking!

Very cute freewrite. Great use of the prompt. Cherry picking would be a hard job!

It was and not one I want to do again! There were many mom's in my town that would take a job working in the cherries at the sorting plants for a month or so during the summer to earn money to buy their many children school clothes. I never did do that, but heard stories of how awful it was--people getting dizzy and sick watching the conveyor belts go buy and picking caterpillars and bugs from the fruit along with rotten ones.

OMG how cute is THATTT i love the cherries with the horse and penny. whaaaa half pallet $14 wow that's slave wages ... hope you had good housing and good food and company!! phew

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63672.27
ETH 3126.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87