Time Travel

in #freewrite6 years ago

Robert Moss teaches that we are time traveling when we dream. Perhaps, into our past to collect missing parts of ourselves, into different realms and realities and parallel lives we may be living and fast forwarding to future events, all of which allow us to change the present, or to update and create a better future for ourselves.

Boom, boom, boom, the drum carries us to the other worlds, a circle of bodies lying in the yurt at Mosswood Hollow all with colorful scarves over our eyes, me under my Pendleton too, pink and green, the wool I reserve just for special dreaming journey’s. We will be traveling to Merlin’s apple orchard and beyond and it is there in the grove I am allowed to pass after giving the gate keeper the secret answer that the time is now.

From there, I see myself moving with guidance from a white rabbit into a pine clearing and snow, no longer the paper of spring blossoms. There’s an owl, white as snow too that circles me and a man I seem to know standing beside me, we both in heavy furs. In my ancient knowing, I update my present self to the significance of a sun at the perfect top of a pine and how the beams spread light in a cone to those different colored jewels sitting in circle at its base. Am shown again, I am one of the owl people and that heraldry my crown.

Photo credit: Victor Bernard/unsplash

Sort:  

Well, well, owls galore upon my owl-reticent path....first my lamppost one, then onnovocks the owl man, now you with your owl. And what, prithee are owl people expected to do - apart from see clearly in the dark, all the way around? And be warrior-sages, of course.

Those sound like pretty good gifts! And, good things come in 3.

I love this theme — dreaming as time travel. It’s a fantastic metaphor with just a touch of literalism to it. Dreams are endlessly fascinating for how they influence our waking life and as you say, the potential to change the future.

Thank you for reading, Mallory. And, happy time traveling tonight :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63077.53
ETH 2471.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66