The End

in #freewrite6 years ago

Today is the end of November, my birthday month and the sun is strangely out. The days grow warmer the seasons more a blur with no note between rain and pouring. Here, on the coast, despite the wet of oceans my years peel away like dried-out flying skins, a swirl of nine years feels like last, I notice just how fast that short, black-hand on the clock spins through numbers.

Seems I do one or two things in a day against its twelve, I know it’s much more, but the fretting as gauged against a hissing pressure cooker of what everyone else is doing—a frantic jump about, I think it even more important to listen to Susan, my improv dance teacher, trained during the crucial artistic times, I imagine sixties through seventies in San Fran and N.Y. explains we must also pause.

The phrasing more impactful with the thought out, or attention to before-thought movement, the geometry of space and limbs and the weight of body on each action, but especially with those pauses, like the rests and pick-up’s in Bryan Ferry’s Mother of Pearl, or the way Richard Avedon uses the stop-blinding flash of white in his photography.

“Eyes out,” she directs.

To the world, and each moment, I devote myself to a beauty rather than a time-bomb, tick, tick, ticking in some backroom the ricocheting beat in empty caves grows ever louder! Instead, I stand against the cacophonous wind of hurry-up’s you are running out of time, see the scales on the jade leaves.

Yet, in the rest, human as ever, I fret over whether the standing so clever goes against my effortless sweep down the streams of being?

Photo Credit: Win Yong/unsplash

Sort:  

Congratulations @kimberlylane! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

What a world, you delivered it beautifully.
Well, am here with the weekend freewrite.

.....
For a single freewrite prompt.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-12-1-2018-single-prompt-option
........
You wanna go pro with this, be my guest.https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-12-1-2018-part-1-the-first-sentence
.........

Happy New Month and have a blessed weekend.

Picked up this one after standing by my cooker listening to the hiss of the gas for a while. I felt this strange concern about turning it off. It was an open flame, the kettle already removed, the tea already made. But one turn and all would be silent.
As if it was all I had by which to measure time; to count it out in cubic metres is to put it in a coffin, but to hear its swan song divine elevation.
As if I am going (properly) insane, time seems to keep slowing down for me. When I fall (flat on my face, happened twice so far, while walking) I have about three hours to consider myself falling: how shall I place my limbs, what stretch is there in my muscles to make a differnt move, how hard might that tarmack actually be? What if I twist my leg a little? Don't forget to keep my chin up (and spare my teeth).... Pretty much arthritic (in my soul?!) on some days, I clumsily knock a glass and watch it fall. Shall I even try to catch it? don't be silly! I'm not that quick. Oh well, nothing lost, nothing gained...nah, it's not worth pulling a muscle over; well, actually it would cost me another glass and an hour of my day, and just think of all those sharp smithereens I'd have to hoover, mop and hoover up some more. .... There we go! snatched out of mid air just because why not?
Is everything the delusion we make it out to be? Is everything but a state of soul? Is everything singing like the gas: please don't switch me off. There is nothing to fear but the silence. The inertia frozen in time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51