Nimby

in #freewrite6 years ago

Not in my backyard, not in my neighborhood, don’t destroy my view, yes for us and no for everybody else. A gathering, a picking, a sifting, a rejecting, a defending, most of us know we’re experiencing climate violence and that we’re headed into a future we’re most likely unprepared for in its stripping away of our rich and posh lifestyles.

No, I probably don’t want one of those giant white windmills in my backyard—I hear the sound is enormous! I’m also not so sure I want to give up my car, though my decade younger neighbors have and seem to be glowing with health.

On the radio this morning I listened to the Bioneer’s and hear of Norway is storing carbon emissions under the North Sea and Austria’s careful studies of damage to the Alps, ski resorts in which one must arrive having abandoned their car.

And, what will happen to beer prices across the world with a shortage of barley? The German jokes the American will have twenty-percent less beer-pong games!

Seriously though, I drove a thousand miles this August to attend my son’s wedding in Utah and fires in the foothills were raging. The tall blonde, sprayed woman at the cowboy-boot store told me Sanpete County was burning at 1000 acres a minute!

Later the next evening as we sat around a glass table on my mom’s back patio, my youngest son pointed at the mountain and asked, “Is that a volcano?” Just another wildfire seemingly springing out of nowhere, giant plumes of gray smoke--my daughter experienced a nosebleed that night.

I won’t go into all of the details here, but Utah is looking much more like Mexico country as the years go on and Governor Gary Herbert declared, “this year will go down as one of the worst wildfire seasons on record.”

After the wedding I did look forward to our return to coastal cool and cleaner air, but Idaho was also on fire, asphalt through blackened sage, and near Hood River, Oregon we drove under and through raining, gray-white ash, we reached home in the middle of the night and straight to bed, but the air still seemed acrid?

The next morning we were surprised to see smoke so dense here on the coast and learned it was blowing in from the Canadian wildfires and so there was no relief. What a suffocating feeling to travel such a distance and to experience firsthand the extent of this summer’s fires and the realization that even being on the edge of the great filter we know as the Pacific Ocean wasn’t enough to offer fresh breathing air.

My point is we’re all in this together, fires and storms know no boundaries, and we all could benefit as individuals and a community by taking a closer look at our own nimby parts.

Photo Credit: Breno Assis/unsplash & Nico/unsplash & Matt Howard/unsplash

Sort:  

Hi... This is so ominous. I've never witnessed this but I've read quite a bit. Those windmills we saw flying over Canada.

Thanks for this. I know the feeling!
Climate change is already well underway. It is past time to invest billions (trillions, in act!) of dollars trying to reverse it or stop it. Time to prepare for what's ahead. Adapt. Work on the infrastructure. If the coasts will go underway, get shelter ready for the people who find higher ground. The books, artwork, technology, cars, pets, antiquities - find new places for all the stuff that's going to sink or burn. That library in Brazil burned because not enough was invested in the wiring and maintenance. Too sad to contemplate.

Politicians and Hollywood entertainers will tell you the changes in climate are all our fault. Climatologists point to the well-documented climate cycles over the centuries and assure us this is simply what happens, and it will soon shift again. I prefer to believe the scientists over the people who are trying to scare us while making a fortune on the panic they've caused. For the past 3 or 4 years we have had a 5th season where we live, "Fire Season," sandwiched between summer and fall. It's no fun, but it has to be lived with, just like the folks who live in tornado- and hurricane-prone areas have to live with that.

Some argue that global warming headed off at the pass another Ice Age, which is still coming, but not as soon as it might have. Given how inaccurate meteorologists are with the daily weather forecast, how are we to trust more long-term forecasts? 20 years ago, alarmist science predicted we'd all be fried by now. Didn't happen, and the predictions were forgotten. That's why I say there's no use investing billions and trillions trying to stall climate change. Spend the tax dollars building earthquake-resistant homes, more underground shelters for tornado alley, and build on higher ground when floods recur... but who listens to women like you or me?

Ha ha!! I know what you mean!!

A fifth season - "Fire Season" - that sounds like a TV series or movie!
I cannot imagine. Fire is the scariest of all.

Technically, I should have called it "Smoke Season", which also sounds like a good TV series title! Or a bad cooking experience.

Great titles! I agree with both the scientists and the Hollywood types--I try to weigh out all and hear the truth in both.

Yes, very sad all was lost in that Brazilian fire :( I guess whatever we're contributing here might be around somewhere unless the entirety is consumed by fire?

@carolkean
After experiencing a hurricane here (where we'd never had them before) and being essentially cut-off from all for a week, I learned there's a real need for having lot's of protein on hand, water a length of rope and a good ax!
And, yesterday after writing I decided to walk to my appointment in the rain because my neighbors do it all the time and it felt pretty good :)

You're gonna make me go wanna buy a Tesla after this fine #freewrite. Uncle Bruni checking in on you. Get some rest. 👍

You'd look good in a Tesla uncle, Bruni!

I have never seen reallife wildfires but only in movie. It is dangerous and so much harm for the environment. The world need to be saved.


Hereby, I am delivering the next prompt to you, here it is, check it out! It is 'laughter.'

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thanks for the clarion call. Yet another among many. Is the world deaf?
steemsig.png
Joe
@joe.nobel

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50