Herbs

in #freewrite6 years ago

If I were to define the word, without looking it up to confirm, I’d say generally, it means adding a small amount of something for a very large “spice up.” As a child, I didn’t like the idea of spiced chickens or herbed bread’s, I knew this meant some overpowering flavor that would ruin the base goodness of whatever it was I wanted to enjoy eating.

Many a meal I skipped and instead ate what I called a peanut-butter melt, which consisted of a thick smear of peanut-butter between two, store-bought, thin, white slices of bread that I’d throw in the mircrowave thirty seconds or so for a roof-of-the-mouth covering, gooey, but delicious meal.

As an adult, I suppose some of my taste buds are worn away because I do add herbs to foods, especially ones fresh from the yard like chives, lemon thyme and rosemary, but these still seem more palatable compared to the dried and packed in red-lidded bottles.

I do love paprika sprinkled on top of potato salad!

I meant also to write also about Frankincense, Myrrh oil and mustard seeds and herbs of the Bible, and then wind into the wildly popular shops on every corner, in every small town in Oregon, where people can now buy their “herbs,” legally. Like I said, a little spice can go a long way, or a dab will do you ;)

Photo credit: Pratiksha Mohanty/unsplash

Sort:  

A touch of a real spice in food (or soap) is like a woman showing only her beautiful calves but not her thighs. It is like the soft shimmer of a gold chain pendant that disappears in the décolleté and radiates a summery touch of body warmth. You can only enjoy in moderation, not always in abundance.

And then the spice is hot and driving if it is to have an antiseptic effect, it stimulates blood circulation and it lowers the fever. The tea tastes bitter, but it helps. These are the painful moments of life that need a hot or cold infusion. And at the end a kind hand that tells you: everything will pass.

yes, as you said :)

I enjoy your lovely comment more than my own spilled words :) Beautiful visual's you've created!

Thank you, Kimberly:) you were the inspiring muse.

Nice freewrite. It will be nice when it is legal everywhere so I can get my mom to try it for her chronic pain issues! Also, all of these freewrites are making me crave food. I want potato salad and hot tea now.

I come from a traditional German, English upbringing. We never ate spicy foods and I never experienced them until after I got married. I still cannot tolerate highly spicy foods, but I have definitely broadened my taste buds. I've never heard of heated up peanut butter sandwiches! I used to eat something weird as a child, frozen bread with mayonnaise, LOL I couldn't even stomach that nowadays.

Strange, but I've heard of a few people eating frozen bread?
My Mom, English background cooked pretty bland meals besides the pickles and sweet and sour meatballs. Actually, she cooks much more interesting dishes now :)

Yes! I used to think frozen bread and mayonnaise was a treat. I guess we didn't have a lot to snack on. My mom made a lot of meatballs, too, and I do believe that she made Swedish meatballs. I haven't had them in years. Have a wonderful day dear.

I am from Jamaica and there, spice is everything....we love spicy food...unfortunately for me I have to watch the amount of spice that I have due to my body's sensitivity. Your freewrites are really good...imagine what you come up with outside of freewrites....keep it up.

Thank you, honeysim! I've really enjoyed the practice of writing just 5-10 minutes, but every, single day! It's opening me up to creativity in a good way. Spent the last couple of days working too on a photo shoot for a gallery contest here in town. Cutting it close to deadline, but went out for a photo shoot and going to look at developed proofs tomorrow! Very excited, and I do think the inspiration is coming from daily writing practice.

I lift my hat to you....I know freewrite in such limited time isnt easy. I am not there yet but hope to be one day. Yeah, the daily practice is good. Keep up the good work and all the best with the photoshoot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56098.81
ETH 2411.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36