You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Editing Our Own Fiction - "How To" Books - How Not be a DNF

in #freewrite5 years ago

"Did not finish."

A friend I've had for 17 years started reading my story on Kindle Unlimited. Being the obsessive person that I am, I stalked my Kindle Pages Read every hour, eagerly awaiting for him to whip through each page and enjoy my story. He was the only person reading on Unlimited, and only Australian overall so that made it easier to stalk! Muahaha! The stats say he made it to the end of Katea's first day before he never looked at it again. ;)

I like Lady Graves and Herr Doktor and the basic story! Some added 'torture' would be great; a sense of danger since he's a fugitive, someone in the tavern thinking the disguised Lady looks familiar, flirtations with the strapping blonde lad --ugh, the customary love triangle... "customary"... write what we want; not what is "expected". :) I love Helga, she needs to thrust herself into more background scenes and haunt our Lady's dreams with her "displays", a different kind of protagonist torture! Haha. So much can be done and I feel that you can make something soso wonderful out of it!

Backstory to what I'm about to say - Steemit post "Super Nostalgic Book Babbles"
I've been writing this story I keep rambling about for going on twenty-two years now. Every year the trilogy changes a tiny bit, or a new thing pops into mind, so much that in my head it's no longer a trilogy but a series of four. Possibly five depending on how my main-character-you-don't-realise-is-the-main-character-until-the-end returns to where he belongs.

I started with a dream. I was writing myself into a fantasy world to escape my real world. Then another character came along. Then a backstory wanted to be written. Then that backstory became my new love and focus and is all I've obsessed over for five years. It's only now I'm brave enough to finally DO that torture instead of imagining it and crying about it because it upsets me and breaks my own heart.

Torturing the protagonist = torturing ourselves. :) It's hard. But it can be done! And I believe you can do it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59568.13
ETH 2951.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55