Why was I born? | Day 543 Freewrite

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20190414_170927.jpg

Everyone's got a story to tell.

Everyone's got a path to go down  -  and sometimes what works from your friends and family is not the right one for you.

How do you actually decide which path to go, when there are voices all around you, trying to usher you into their camp?

Having a prestigious career as a lawyer and making lots of money. Being a self-driven entrepreneur. Being a homemaker.

The problem is I try to be this person or that other person, but in the end the actions and behaviour does not sustain themselves. They fizz out... because it is not truly me.

The idea of being this person or that person may certainly be glamorous, but all too often we make the mistake of appreciating the position and not the process. When truly, the process, the daily grind is what matters.

How long can you keep it up?

How long can you keep up the grind when it is not something which is not aligned with your life purpose, values, talents and contributions?

The essential question is:

Why was I born?


This is the second instalment in the #steemblopomo series.

If you have advice on how to choose a life path, drop some love in the comments below (so we can all learn)! (:

Upvotes and resteems are much appreciated!

Love,
Joey

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_round.png

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  


We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
uvoted and/or resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you <3

Woah! That is a deep question and one I have asked myself many times during my life. My hope is that everyone discovers their true purpose and enjoys their life, no matter what they end up doing with their life.

Resident cat here, wishing you a happy life as I deliver today's new prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-544-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-horrific

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

Hey @whatisnew! Thanks for attempting that (actually very) difficult question.

Indeed. Enjoyment is not to be underrated (':

Wonderful freewrite @joeylim. It hits home a bit.

@tryskele thank you!!
In what sense, may I ask? ((:

The problem is I try to be this person or that other person, but in the end the actions and behaviour does not sustain themselves. They fizz out... because it is not truly me.

How long can you keep it up?
How long can you keep up the grind when it is not something which is not aligned with your life purpose, values, talents and contributions?

Throughout the years, I have essentially become 2 people. My work persona (public) and the real me. I have worked for companies that I do not believe in their product or practices, but due to having to make a living made the best of a situation.

I put on my mask and go about my day. I have been doing it so long, I am at a point I cannot keep up the mask anymore. At this point in my life, I don't want the constant negativity of having to 'perform' in a manner that is not consistent with my values and talents.

I am 50 yrs old. I have owned my own business and worked in so many different positions, Mostly managerial. Yesterday, as a case in point, I was told to 'express my opinions' Only to be told we don't want to hear it. I gave an explanation as to why I couldn't do something (because it wasn't there) and still was sent to look for it. I explained what happened and still told to go look for it. Then to be talked to like I'm 17 again at my first job. 'You need to learn...' Pardon my language, but fuck this shit.

🎁 Dear @tryskele,

SteemBet Seed round SPT sale is about to start in 2 days!

When our started the development of SteemBet Dice game, we couldn’t imagine that our game would go so viral and that SteemBet would become one of the pioneers in this field.

In order to give back to our beloved community, we’ll distribute 4000 STEEM to SPT holders immediately after Seed sale. Plus, investors in this earliest round will be given 60% more tokens as reward and overall Return on Investment is estimated at 300%!

Join the whitelist on SteemBet webiste now and start investing! Feel free to ask us anything on Discord https://discord.gg/tNWJEAD

spt-sale-2-day.jpg

Hi @joeylim!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.863 which ranks you at #11879 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 816 places in the last three days (old rank 12695).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 224 contributions, your post is ranked at #148.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62890.35
ETH 2544.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.94