You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: We-Write! My Start and Your End!

in #freewrite6 years ago

The Start of the Story
Lydia touched the soft petals that belonged to roses perched by her grandma's front door.
"Smooth as silk." Her grandma always said. "but be careful of the thorns, they prick."
It was true she realized, about more things than just roses.
Take this afternoon for instance. She had gone into work just like any other day. Her coffee still warm in her hand as she sat down at her desk.
But as she looked up to her computer, there stuck to the screen was a post-it note that read...


Remember that everything comes with a price

Shocked, and a little confused, Lydia had taken the note and crumpled it. She didn't remember writing that or sticking it to her computer, but it seemed to be her handwriting upon closer inspection.

She hears a knock on her door, opening it she see's her husband, Charles, well... now ex-husband.

"Hey, um... What are you doing here?" Lydia asks him nervously wringing her hands.

"It's your day to watch over Rosaline," he responds in a monotone voice, taking her small hand and leading her into the house.

"Oh, r-right," she replies with a stutter, she had forgotten again. Crouching down to Rosaline's level she asks, "Hey Rosie, how have you been?"

"Hi mom, I've been good I guess," she replies seemingly reluctant. "Do I have to stay with her for a week?" Rosaline asks, turning to her father.

Right, thorns do prick... Lydia thinks to herself, feeling a stab in the heart from the thorns of her young Rose.


I wasn't sure if I should have @ freedomtowrite since that would probably give them a lot of notifications so I didn't, if you'd rather me edit the comment to change this, just tell me :)
Sort:  

I wasn't expecting that @jewlzie. How sad! 😢

Aww, I was just trying to go for how life has thorns even from some of the greatest blessings.

I was just trying to go for how life has thorns even from some of the greatest blessings

So true. You did a great job conveying that @jewlzie. 😊

Thank you! :)

all good :) You did just fine.

Ahhhh my heart broke for her! That was a great symbol of the thorns analogy! Also, I don't mind the tags. But either way works!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57676.72
ETH 2356.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39