You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "We represent...." Day 739: 5 Minute Freewrite: Prompt: represent

in #freewrite5 years ago

Some interesting perspectives and insights, many of those experiences I shared
@carolkean. Upvoted of course.
My contibution would have been the verse about
"Pray without ceasing" 1 Thessalonians 5:17 I always wondered how one
Would do that. Then years later, I had this idea. Most people start off
A prayer with something like "Dear Father" or "Oh my Lord God"
(To me that is like picking up the phone and dialing HIS number)
Then when finished, we always say "AMEN"(Hanging up the phone)
So what if we never said AMEN? what if we "left the phone off the hook"
So to speak, then everything we did, said or thought during our days
Would be a part of our prayer.
Methinks it would change how we approached life a bit.
Not proselytizing, just some(simplistic) thoughts.😉

Sort:  

Love it - "never hang up the phone" - leave the line open at all times.
GREAT analogy!
Thank you for reading and commenting!
p.s. I actually do pray a lot. That's not to say I have any expectation that a listening God exists, but I pray anyway, because it costs nothing, and because people ask me to pray for them, so I do. If they believe my prayers help, the placebo effect, if nothing else, might make a difference. :)

I pray every night before I got to sleep. Being so structured, one might
think it would not be sincere or heartfelt, but it is, believe me.
I have this problem you see; I was riding with my niece once on a trip to
Her Mom's family home in Tennessee, she was praying
"Oh Lord, please Let it snow so my kids can finally experience it" 😠
So if God granted that prayer, for such a trivial reason, what about all
The people who would die on the roads because of the snow? All the
Folks who don't have adequate shelter? Does your kids experiencing
Snow for the first time trump those peoples lives?
People pray for the silliest things. Beware what you pray for;
You just might get it.

It DID Snow!!!

I love the way you think. (Ok, it reminds me of the way I think. But, yeah!)
You remind of the Hail Mary at football games when both teams are from Catholic schools. Which one will pray for AND get the win?
I love your disclaimer at the end!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58047.91
ETH 2348.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37