Turbine - Freewrite

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

It was freezing that early November morning. The sleek black limousine was as late as usual.

The inside was warm and there were several ice cold beers at hand. There was even a bottle of whiskey with two tall crystal glasses nearby.


Source: Giphy.com

A bucket of ice sat in a nearby reservoir.

I'm a test pilot.

We put our lives at risk every day.

Some people think we have nerves of steel but I can tell you right now that I have nerves of beer. Or whiskey. Or wine. It's the alcohol that gets you through.

Today I was testing a new type of engine that was going to be put in a plane that was completely made of plastic.

This plane could supposedly fly through sonar without being detected from any range.

The engine was created from a new company that I've never heard of before.

Completely experimental.

No one had ever been in this plane before. I would be the first.

I was just kicking back my 4th glass of whiskey when we arrived at the airfield.

There she was shining dark against the bright sky like some kind of black hole that had been pulled out of a distant galaxy and placed on the ground in front of me.

Nova 6 was painted on the side. It was painted in a lighter shade of black. You could barely make it out.

I was just the right amount of tipsy to get this project started.

Putting on my helmet and headset I opened the hatch and jumped inside.

Cool leather seats. Very Star Trek feel to it.

The glass dome slowly lowered over my head.

I was up most the night reading the manual for the past week. Difficult stuff but I think I've got the hang of it.

Push a button here, pull a lever here, press a button here. The engine revs to life.

Turbine whines. How fast can she go?

This model contains a handprint scanner so that no one is able to steal this technology.

I am one of three people that is programmed into the computer.

Placing my hand on the scanner a blue glowing light shines through my hand as though it were transparent.

Voices in my head.

It seems to me that the plane is moving backwards. Backwards and up into the air. This can't be happening.

There is no way for the plane to take off backwards because the turbines don't face that way. This is complete nonsense. I try to stand up but I'm strapped in.

5000, 10000, 20000 feet in the air. The voices in my head are screaming at me.

It's shaking apart....... everything is falling apart...... I'm screaming now.

"For the love of God! Someone help me!" my microphone doesn't seem to be working.

Faster, faster..... I'm going backwards through time. Blue light, red light, blue light, red light.

"It looks like the error was in the hand recognition system."

"Instead of recognizing him it looks like he was considered an intruder by the system. Safeguards were in place."

"Safeguards?"

"Yes. It was never our intention for this technology to fall into the wrong hands."

This contest is hosted by mariannewest

じゃあね

Sort:  

What a great story, loved it. Maybe you used your wrong hand to authorize your usage. 😀

I don't think that I would have made a very good test pilot, especially flying plastic jet planes, or alien spaceships of some kind lol.

That was some beautiful writing! Up-voting and following! Any advice you may have to offer to a newbie writer like me, would be much appreciated :)

Make friends in the community. Comment a lot and make sure that your comments are engaging and interesting. Comment to a variety of different people that write fiction based posts if you write fiction.

Thanks a million mate :)

Another great write with a cool twist

Thanks buddy.

Your welcome

I identify with your story, brilliant!

I would like to fly someday, a unique experience!

Great story. I wonder, was it alien technology? An experimental craft captured from the enemy? I'm leaning more toward alien, because everything about it seems otherworldly.

Thanks for the read. I enjoyed it.

Towards the end i was thinking it was from the Russians and some other Nation stole the technology. I don't know why I thought of that. I was like reading Sidney Sheldon at the start.

gOod mOrning @jeezzle have a good day! very interseting story :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63006.79
ETH 2456.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59