Snake - Freewrite

in #freewrite7 years ago

There were twelve of us in total.

Each of us had a code name.

I was Rabbit because I was really quick.

My roommates name was Toad because he usually sat around like a lump on a log.


Source: Giphy.com

We lived two to a cabin.

I'd been raised here most of my life in this fighting camp.

There were 10 groups in total.

Despite that I'd only ever met one of the other groups.

We were not supposed to intermingle, you see.

No one knew why we were in these groups in the first place but we all assumed there was some reason that we weren't being told.

One day Toad and I were sitting around the circle stone with Beaver and Chipmunk when our group's leader came and sat down next to us.

"Gentleman. The time has come for the Sound of Silence to fight the Black Ravens."

We all just sat and stared at Eagle. None of us spoke much. Was it a respect thing? I couldn't tell you. We just didn't know a life different than this one.

The fight was scheduled for 10 days from now. We spent everyday between now and then practicing our fighting skills.

Eagle knew that he would eventually have to fight Snake. The rest of us would probably survive the battle but Eagle could die if he wasn't able to succeed and defeating their leader.

As for me? I didn't want to be called Rabbit anymore.

So I fought tooth and nail.

Scissor kicks, jigsaw punches, roundhouse circle stomps.

In the end we triumphed over the Black Ravens.

I'm Scorpion and I'm second in command of the team.

Welcome to the Sound of Silence.

Sort:  

Sound of silence... Nice

You were a hero of that group. Really you are awesome writer. I want your 2nd episode of this story soon.

This one is unlikely to get a second story.

That was brilliant it had a Hunger games feel to it.

Thanks. I liked it too.

Hm sounds good...lets see what you have for us next. Is it going to be a series?

Probably not.

Good story, and even though my voting power does not exceed 0.01, I invested it wisely, congratulations :D

I appreciate that.

Besides eagle, (They almost always come out on top in the titanic battle against snakes) You should have kept on as Rabbit!

You'd have stood a sure chance of surviving the battles! lol. You know how gifted rabbits are with running! lol.

It is a somewhat cryptic story, but the shine comes out after two or more reads!

Meanwhile, before i i fly away and on to another freewrite nest, here is your special gift from @mariannewest: Today's prompt:

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-125-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-cinnamon

See you there. with another story soonest.

Thank you.

What is nice about the post? It is, by the way!

Nice story @jeezzle. Thanks for sharing. I like your creativity.

that's a creative writing jeezzle :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53929.89
ETH 2263.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35