Fumigate - Freewrite

in #freewrite7 years ago

Steven's apartment wasn't exactly what I expected.

It was one of those motel style apartments.

When I say that I mean that there were several units really close together and it was pretty run down, but the same time it seemed more like a small grouping of tenants than an actual apartment building.

Sure there was a billiard room and it had a couple of old jukeboxes in it but nobody ever went in there. In fact, the place was completely covered in dust. We tried going to play pool on occasion...... but it wasn't very fun to be there.


Source: Giphy.com

The laundry room was like a ghost town also.

Most of the people that lived there were of the older variety so I had this image in my head of a bunch of people with dirty clothes thrown everywhere. They didn't really have anyone to impress anymore so they weren't really too interested in doing their laundry or taking care of themselves.

Sometimes just walking by people's apartments in this motel style housing development you couldn't help but smell odors that would be better off left alone.

I wondered if there were people in here that were never taking their trash out or if there were people in here that had absolute garbage dumps in their living spaces.

Of course, the worst part of it all happened the first night I stayed there.

This was Steven's first apartment so he was a little bit uncomfortable to stay there by himself the first night. I offered to spend the night with him and it turned out to be quite an eventful experience.

At about 3:00 in the morning I got up to use the restroom. Immediately upon flicking on the lights I noticed there was a lot of dirt on the wall.

"Now that's interesting." I thought to myself.

"That dirt wasn't there before."

You're probably thinking that it wasn't actually dirt and you are right.

It was a bunch of little baby cockroaches and they were all over the walls and floors of this apartment.

Needless to say we fumigated the heck out of this place for the next few days.

That seemed to do the trick for a while but within the next week or two the apartment was full of cockroaches once again.

It occurred me that with all of the older people that didn't seem to do the laundry, and with all of the apartments that stunk so bad when you walked by that you couldn't help but try to not vomit, that it was very likely that most of these apartments were actually full of cockroaches.

No matter how often we fumigated this apartment the cockroaches in the neighbor's apartment would always find a way in and lay their eggs there.

The answer actually was in those little combat roach traps.

We put out a whole crap load of those after fumigating one day.

The next month we fumigated again and then laid another crap load of those roach traps again.

The roaches go into the traps and they take the poison out and then they feed it to the other roaches.

Finally we got rid of the roach infestation and we probably got rid of the infestation in all of the surrounding apartment units.

The building crew should have paid us but instead these people probably didn't even notice.

I guess that there's a lesson to be learned here.

Don't rent without fully checking for cockroaches.

There's a heck of a lot apartments that have cockroach infestations so you really have to be careful.

If you do find an infestation you will have to fumigate but you also have to lay traps out to make sure that the apartments near you aren't suffering from an infestation that's transferring to your unit.

I know it's pretty gross but it comes with the territory when you're dealing with apartment life.

Sort:  

I have to ask....How do you come up with all this stuff?
Nice writing 'cause I could smell the bathroom.
Actually, I used to live there.

I think we all used to live here once. Sometimes you just sit down and start writing and see what you come up with.

Another interesting write to read . yeah it’s mandatory for us to check the house before renting it full , who knows which animal is hidden inside the house . We experienced with the rats 🐀 in the similar manner but we rather used rat traps 😄

I lived in a house full of mice once.

There is nothing blood-curdling than a bug trouble.

That is definitely true.

Cockroaches...EW! Climbing on the wall! OMG! And all of the other odors...gross! There is no way I could live there; even after the roaches were gone. : (

Well there's a good chance that cockroaches have crawled over one of the surfaces that you're currently sitting on. They're all over the place you know.

Yeah. Research before renting is a MUST.
I wonder...all the rest in the building aren’t annoyed by that situation?do they feel comfortable with that?what the heck?

Hey @jeezzle?
If i send you a link you think you could find 2-3 spare minutes to read and just tell me your opinion?
I m writing too but I would love to hear your opinion only. Anyway thanks in advance
Here it is.https://steemit.com/writing/@mindtrap/dedicated-to-all-new-steemians-free-writing

I will check it out later today.

We've never (knock on wood) dealt with roaches in any of our rentals over the years, and some of my horror stories pale in comparison to a wall full of roaches... * shudder *

Nicely done freewrite!

Yeah a wall of cockroaches is definitely one of my biggest fears. Fortunately they were all very tiny. If they had been giant cockroaches ten I might have felt a little bit different.

LOL! Yeah - good point.

Your GIF reminds me of playing SIMPSON'S HIT AND RUN! Where Bart Simpson is the cool guy hahaha

I used to love the old Simpson games.

Yeah! You can do crazy things there. :) Nice to meet you jeezzle!! :)

Really before renting house we should check environment of that rent house which we want to rent it. It was your great bitter experience about just like a ghost house . It was also dirty and worst place . Good information and thank you for sharing .

Yes checking is important.

really I agree with you and i already am living in rent house .

The art of writing is the art of discovering what you believe.writing is like a sport it's like athletics if you don't practice you don't get any better..
stay blessed:):)

Urghhh my skin is crawling, I hate bugs! But I suppose that's a good thing for who wrote the story ;) Good job.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85