Cigarettes - Freewrite

in #freewrite7 years ago

Quitting smoking was one of the hardest things I've ever done.

I started smoking because I thought it would make me cool.


Source: Giphy.com

I thought it would make chicks like me, and to be honest I thought it would get me laid.

30 years ago all of those things were true.

It made me cool in the eyes of others.

It made chicks like me.

It even got me laid.

Of course it did something else too.... it gave me a terrible addiction that lasted for over 10 years.

People know better these days.

Back then people thought cigarettes might be bad for you. I guess they even knew cigarettes were bad for you...... but it wasn't like today.

My doctor smoked.

Everyone I knew smoked.

I remember smoking in the movie theater.

I remember being in a restaurant smoking.

I remember being in the mall in the bathroom and everyone in there was smoking.

Cigarettes were extremely cheap back then, and easy to buy whenever you wanted.

Nowadays a pack of cigarettes is really expensive . You can buy a six pack of beer for the same price as a pack of cigarettes around here.

Do I regret smoking?

That's the funny thing.

My friends and some of the girls that I got together with probably were involved with me because of the smoking somehow. I was a rebel and so were they.

I don't know if smoking was really a part of it or if it just seemed like a part of it but I really wouldn't want to disturb those memories either.

I'm glad that I was ultimately able to quit though.

I still work with a few people that smoke and I think it's really sad that they have to sneak outside to smoke a cigarette now.

There is so much judgement about smoking these days.

I can't stand the smell of smoke anymore and I don't know how I used to actually put those things in my mouth.

Today I can't really even imagine someone smoking. It smells bad. It costs a lot. It does nothing for you.

Smoking....

It was a good place to visit but I'm glad I quit living there many years ago.

This contest is hosted by mariannewest

じゃあね

Sort:  

Nice! Congratulations! You deserve it!

Much appreciated.

I knew this feeling ! It took me for a long time to stop with smoking. Now it is done for me, I feel more fresh with my breathing. Thanks fir sharing with us. If you have time please visit my post. Upvotwd from @chanthasam

Everyone has the right to smoke or not but I have seen many people who irritate others with their smoking habits. I have even seen people who would smoke in the class and the smoke of the cigarette would make me feel so bad.Congrats to you though that you are no more in smoking.

I started smoking at the age 15/16 years old,because all my friends did it too, my addiction last 16 years, I quit back in 2009.

Congratulations on quitting. It's very difficult.

The smell is awful. I am glad I managed to quit as well. I know what you mean though, them memories are kinda sacred

It's hard to believe that the smell is so bad but yet we used to put that smell in our mouth.

Good job I've tried to quit myself but then i get stressed out and get right back into it

It's really easy to quit but it's very difficult to really quit.

I quit May 7, 2013. Best thing I ever did for myself. Now I can't believe I ever had that nasty habit. I only started smoking cigarettes in my mid 20's, when I was drinking a lot. Congrats on quitting.

Congratulations. Quitting is extremely difficult.

I decided that morning I wasn't going to smoke - no matter what. At around 3pm that afternoon, the company I'd worked for for 10 years had a meeting where they informed us all they were closing, and we were all losing our jobs in 2 days. I didn't have a smoke that day. After that it was easy lol

Good job on the write up and on quitting.

Thank you very much.

So glad you were able to quit! My husband and I both smoked 25 years ago. I was able to quit on the spot when I got pregnant, but he's struggled to quit many times over the years. It is a horrible habit. Congratulations on being able to quit!

Also, I am here helping @mariannewest with freewrites today:
Here is Prompt 105
Thanks for writing with us!
@byn

Quitting Smoking is one of the most difficult things that anyone's ever had to do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60445.30
ETH 2331.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52