Sleep - Freewrite

in #freewrite7 years ago

I sat on the edge of my bed with my back propped against my pillow.

It was hot.

The air conditioning wasn't working because our electricity had been shut off and we weren't able to pay the bill to turn it back on.

Nevertheless we were making it work.

We slept with the balcony door open.


Source: Giphy.com

There was an outdoor that we kept locked so that the dog wouldn't be able to escape.

As I sat in my bed she looked up at me from her doggie bed as if to say.....

"Hey master...... it's freaking hot."

Looking over at the face of my beautiful wife I couldn't help but feel frustrated at my situation.

Her furrowed brow meant that in some dream she was feeling much like I was feeling now.

Small beads of sweat ran down the sides of her face. I reached over and brushed back her hair from her forehead.

We'd been getting by doing odd jobs here and there.

These past few months there hasn't been much work at all.

We spend most of our days now playing cards, drinking whatever we can get our hands on, and smoking cigarettes.

As far as lives go ours is pretty lame.

My wife is beautiful though and my dog is really cool.

My apartment is awesome and I really like my car.

I think I'm going to have all of these things forever. I think that even though I don't put in a lot of effort I'm still going to get all the things that I want.

Before I drift off to sleep I can't help but think.........I hope I'm not wrong.

This contest is hosted by mariannewest

じゃあね

Sort:  

once an again you write very well thanks for sharing.

awee. hang on tight. i lovethe part where you mentioned your wife was beautiful. it really shows your love for her. :)

Yes I still think about her all the time.

as always such great writing

Even uncomfortably hot and unable to sleep, he's still looking on the bright side and counting his blessings. I liked this, especially the love for his wife and his cool dog! :)

Yes. Both of those are gone now.

Sorry Jeezzle, I remember reading about the divorce in another post and I should have considered your feelings when I made that comment. It's so hard in a relationship when both parties have different expectations for what they what out of it and what effort they're willing to put in. And then there's those times when people try so damn hard and it's still just not enough. I do wish you well. :)

:) another great freewrite from you! Great job on the creativity.. Much love

Much appreciated.

Should this prompt hit your head I do apologize, it's difficult to aim while flying through the skies!

Freewrite Day 115 - Mason Jar

and why would you be wrong?

By doing odd jobs and not putting in the effort to find a real job in order to support my wife it is very possible that she would leave me. The hidden moral of this story is that if things are really good around you but you aren't putting in the effort to continue to give the correct amount of attention to those things then those things could easily Leave You by the side of the road.

That's a true description of a young couple.. Life hits you hard but you can't give in. Coz you are your life's master. The time we have on earth is so limited to start beating yourself about how hard things are getting. Hustle until things better but without forgetting your lucky to be alive.. and you should live life to it's fullest

You definitely should.

I hope you are not wrong...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59096.52
ETH 2516.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46