Airplane - Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

How many hours have I been walking through this horrible yellow desert?

It feels like about 4 hours.

Maybe 5.

My feet hurt.

My skin itches.

My dry eyes feel as though they are about to pop out of my head.


Source: Giphy.com

Despite what they might tell you, the cave really isn't so bad.

There's a small running stream of cool water, first of all.

Secondly it's a great way to shade yourself from the horribly torturous Sun.

10 years ago the Sun begin to get hotter and hotter. It became a huge torch in the sky, burning the last vestiges of humanity into small chunks of fleshy charcoal.

It's not really possible to live out here anymore. The whole planet is a desert save for a few protected areas.

The cave was one such area.

It was is just me, Lucy, and Luke out here.

Everyday Lucy talked about finding the Oasis beyond the desert.

I told her there was nothing out there.

It's hard to convince someone of something when they've already decided something else.

I wasn't ready to lose her just yet though so I put on my last pair of barely held together sandals and followed the footprints in the sand.

"Lucy!"

Where was she?

She must have left hours ago.

She's probably dead by now.

That leaves me and Luke...... and Luke can't even talk anymore.

I don't want to spend my days alone.

"Lucy!!!!"

She didn't like the cave. She didn't understand.

She wanted to be around people.

Most everyone had burned to death.

When the Sun went through its great burn off there was only about 10 minutes to get inside and away from the window.

It took most everybody out.

Every year it had been a little less hot than it was the year before. It's still too hot to be walking out in the desert.

I've got to find her.

A giant hillside looms in front of me. It's sand covered slope is a million miles high to my tired eyes.

"Lucy come here!"

As I cross the ridge I see her.

She's leaning against the side of the rusted old wreck.

It was a prop plane.

Half of a rusty propeller hangs from the front like a wish filled dream...... cracked and bent and broken.

I run over to Lucy and put my hand against her neck.

She is burning up.

She looks up at me with pleading eyes.

I hold her in my arms.

Lucy.

Don't leave me.

This contest is hosted by mariannewest

じゃあね

Sort:  

Nice post!
It's hard to convince someone of something when they've already decided something else. Especially with ...
Resteemed

Thank you for sharing ♥ following you

I love this story and I want to read more Thank you very much
How much did the plane crash ?

You always create such tension!! Lucy, you fool!!

Your description of the propeller hit me harder than I'd like. 😢

Today I'm performing as a Marianne marionette. Frolicking stringless as I bring today's prompt to you.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-80-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-awakening

It gave me a sense of desperation and took me there with them..It's great for a 5 minutes exercise :-)

Thanks For share this Article. @jeezzle

That gif got to me😢😢😢

The perfect lesson how NOT to land a plane with the wheels down on anything but a runway.
They call it 'belly landing' because that's what it's supposed to be. So the wheels dont catch and rip the plane apart

Ohhhhhhhhhhhh, thanks for explaining. @mishegas

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99