What happened to the baby? [FreeWrite]

in #freewrite6 years ago

This Saturday, my son turns 1. Yes, Christiaan, the youngest addition to the family is ready to take the next step, quite literally as well. At the daycare, they want to take him to the next group and at home, the first steps walking by himself aren’t that far away.

My son has other ambitions though. He doesn’t seem te be in a rush to walk, as he is a seasoned crawler and believes everything is possible through crawling and climbing.

This.. in all honesty... can be a little worrisome. Where my daughter was always careful with every step, my son seems to have no real fear of danger.

This includes climbing up the slide and sliding off it by himself, which is both cool and makes me feel a terrible parent at the same time, and climbing on the high side of the living room couch (which he somehow keeps climbing on without having an option of getting off).

One part of me really wants to see what he is capable off, however the question ‘What happened to the baby?’ is one question I have no interest in answering.

》----------------------------《
This is an entry to the daily prompt freewrite by @mariannewest. View the full post here.
Special thanks to the @freewritehouse for adopting me this week!

Make sure to follow these awesome people as well:
@kaelci
@deirdyweirdy
@blacklux
@wonderwop
》----------------------------《

#Lobi
@jeanlucsr

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Lol, the fun stages of boys. I swear it is in the gene pool of them having no fear, until they end up getting hurt. Happy 1st lil man.

Haha, true. It's definitely a boys thing. I'll send him your wishes 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you :) and my son went through a phase of climbing on many things, one being his kiddy table. He would have a toy of some sort in his mouth, and look right at us as we would tell him no, and climb up on the top anyway. We finally had to get it away from the bay window for fear of his falling against it.

Oh! Happy early birthday to Christiaan!And I can totally relate with all that... Worried what may happen next... Yet curious to find out what he is capable of... The dilemma... Yup... I guess most mamas can relate to this. Right @iamjadeline @metzli @brittandjosie @crosheille @thekitchenfairy 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Absolutely. Every loving parents are like so.

And oh, my youngest didnt start walking until 13 months or so. The same as talking. He really took his sweet time. But yep, he wasnt and still isnt one that stays still. Climbs, runs, plays with older kids as if he was one, finished building a Lego toy all by himself, etc. Every kids just differ for sure in time of "milestone".

Happy Birthday to your son @jeanlucsr🎂🎂🎂🎂

Thanks for tagging me @elizacheng sorry for late reply, am down with the flu 🤧🤒😷

Thanks @thekitchenfairy!
Get well soon 💐

Posted using Partiko Android

Why thank you, kind sir 😊

Thanks for the wishes! Any tips concerning the dilemma?

Posted using Partiko Android

I choose not to look at them if they are to do sports or play in the playground... Or else I will be scaring myself each and every moment... And I am glad I am not with my girl when she fell and broke her arm just three weeks ago. That particular moment I was not there... If I was there, I am sure both me and her would feel like dying instantly. But after that moment, I am with her all the time.
Most of the time the kids are really smart and can "survive" all their stunts unharmed... 😂😂😂
Just our heart not strong enough to withstand it...

Posted using Partiko Android

Solid advice 👍😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Congratulations on that big birthday party you're throwing. Uncle Bruni can't sleep so I came to visit.

Thanks unc! We're keeping it small. The big advantage is there is no social pressure from all of his friends yet 😅

Posted using Partiko Android

I had a daughter like that... playing little meaid at the couch... broke an arm at 2 places and while we were waiting for the result of the x-ray she was climbing and swinging in the curtains arounds the beds in hospital like a monkey...using both arms.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh my. Hope she had a smooth recovery. Oh wait she was already back in the curtains 👀

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes she was. The nurse came back was speechless asked: which arm? So I said (had to take a cab twice, doctor first, next to the hospital): I asdume it is not broke. She: it is at 2 places. The plaster did not stay long, cut it off... think year later again... after that she never broke anything again nor visited a doctor.

Posted using Partiko Android

I guess if it doesn't hurt enough, they continue playing

Posted using Partiko Android

Sometimes they are hurt, see some blood too, they stop for a second or two and start again.

Posted using Partiko Android

She is a real trooper. My daughter would scream for a bandaid if there was one drip of blood 😂.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76