My First Weekend Freewrite

in #freewrite7 years ago


There were 17 cats living in Larry's basement.

It was much like what my grandfather had to deal with in the 30s. You see he grew up working at a delicaatessen with his two brothers and his parents. They all lived upstairs in the coldwater flat and his father ran the deli down below. They served sandwiches and pickles and had a cat problem.

Larry's cat's aren't all blind cats but the ones in my grandfathers basement were all blind. He said he used to have to go down there and get things and that fleas would be covering your ankles when you finally ran back up out of the dark musty cat filled space.

Finally one day his dad called up the neighbor who was a very good shot and told him he'd give him a few pennies per cat that he cleaned up out of that basement. My grandpa and his brothers were sent down into the flea infested place to scare out the cats. He said they made the biggest commotion and blind cats went scattering up into the light of day.
And the neighbor was true to his shot. He got something like 40 cats out of that basement. But Larry. Larry has a different kind of problem.

On Tuesday, she asked me the most peculiar question.

Now, I know you're wondering about who "she" is. And I'll get to that. But Larry's problem with the 17 cats has to do with her. She wanted help you see. You know, she had found a litter of kittens. And then another. And then she'd found this old lady who couldn't keep her old cat and needed someone to help her out by taking the cat and so here she was with a bunch of cats.

And who does she turn to?

Larry of course. Becasue he's got that basement that he never uses and she can't possibly have 17 cats in her house. So Larry being the kind of guy that he is couldn't say no. He can't say no to things. You know he doesn't want these 17 cats in the basement but here he is stuck with them because he just couldn't tell her what he really thought about cats. And that's that he's extremely allergic to the darn things. They may not be flea infested but they sure do make him sneeze and wheeze, and have scratchy itchy eyes.

I mean the poor guy looks terrible and so that's why she came to me and asked me the question. Would I house 17 cats?
The way Herb defrosted the fridgerator is the reason I gave her for why there was no way I could house those 17 felines. I mean my basement is flooded. I mean seriously straight up flooded. It's not a lie either.

Herb my obnoxiously messy roommate had this meat fridge. You know the kind hunters have to store all their venison. Well he decided to defrost the damn thing. I really can't tell you why because it's just the kind of guy he is. You know Larry’s the kind of guy who can't say no and Herb's the kind of guy you just can't figure out why he does what he does. I mean he's not a dumb guy but sometimes you just wonder how he could do the things he does.

Anyways he defrosted the damn thing, I tell her, and now there's a flood in the basement filled with rank defrosted meat and blood. Yeah seriously my basement is no place for 17 cats. I mean sure the water's been cleaned up but the walls need to be stripped. The drywall cut out. And the carpets, well they're through with, gotta toss them. And don't even get me started on the new baseboard and wood floors.

No, I can't take in 17 cats!

Thanks for the three awesome prompts. How freaking random! But I loved it @mariannewest
Check out the Weekend Freewriting promts here: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-4-the-first-sentence

Sort:  

Perfect story!!!
You used the prompts so great :D and made it very, very entertaining!!
Thank You!!

Thank you back! It was fun ( :

This is fantastic!! So glad you are writing with us!! I think the total randomness of the prompts really makes you stretch as a writer :)
Today's: https://busy.org/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-38-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-fresh-floor-wax

WAAA,,STEADY,,MISS,,VOTE ME MRAZI,,OKAY

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65373.54
ETH 2639.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84