5 Minute Freewrite Prompt: Junk

in #freewrite7 years ago

Junk, It's everywhere. At least to most people. But when you work at a junk yard you start to see the treasures. The way it works in your head, turns into projects. New ideas. Things that can become art or reused objects. I'm telling you. You need to become a part of this reuse community.

Honestly I've been thinking for a long time about starting my own junk yard, architectural salvage if you want to be more boutique about it. I know so many people who are thrift store junkies, who are building mini houses, or are just antique collectors, or people who really care about what the world looks like in the future beyond their own lives. I'm telling you, there is a community loosely formed that I want to grab and say come here! Come to Re.Collection. My junk yard, a collection of reusable items that we've saved from the landfill.

Every time I throw out a window I see it happening. I see it sitting unchanged deeper and deeper within a growing pile of our garbage. Oh my god. Think of the landfills filling up around the world. It's trash day today. Outside I can hear the truck loudly churning down the street filling itself with "trash".

Wow, gotta say that is super fun. The five minute freewrite. Thank you so much @mariannewest and @improv and @deaconlee who thought this up/lead me to find this group and these prompts. I'll certainly be back to do this again.

Prompt: Junk
Set your timer for 5 minutes.
Start writing
Use the hashtag #freewrite
Publish your piece (include a link to this post if you wish)
Copy and paste your URL into the comment section of the prompt post.
Or, if you don't want to publish your freewrite, just copy and paste as a comment under the prompt post.
If you don't know what a freewrite is, here is a link to the introduction post.

Sort:  

Glad that you will be back!! :)
If you want to take the 3 prompt weekend challenge https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-4-the-first-sentence

If you want to stick with one prompt like usual https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-november-25-2017-single-prompt-option

That was awesome! My wife and I are thrift store addicts and I'm a natural pack-rat, they call us hoarders today lol. Well maybe I'm not all that bad, my wife keeps me honest with my junk. If I start running low on room then I have to get rid of some things before I can add new, so I pack up the stuff that I haven't used in a year or that I have not found a project to line them up for and away they go to our favorite thrift store, which is also a great charity. If it is not good enough for them then it goes in the recycling bin! I'm so glad that you jumped on this challenge, and I appreciate the mention also. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58503.45
ETH 2594.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45