Waste -5minutefreewrite(x3)

in #freewrite6 years ago

For https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/the-weekend-freewrite-part-3-the-dramatic-twist

My brother was doing that thing he did. That thing with the rag in the sink.
...haven't we done this one before...?

Jimbo moved his arms like a gorilla. He was gentle and kind like coco, the gorilla who had a kitten. He loved everyone.

Janet pull a box of cereal off the shelf, and accidentally spilled a bunch while she was pouring herself a bowl. She was sloppy. She wasn't a child, just sloppy and uncaring. Jimbo picked up the pieces after her, and lovingly told her, Janet, you're a sloppy mess. You have such messy hair, and your shirt is on backwards.

Janet pretended she hadn't heard about the sloppy part and instead thanked Jimbo for noticing her fashion statement. Truth be told, she didn't think about how she put her clothes on, but that not caring was, in itself, a fashion statement.

She finished her bowl of cereal and then noticed that Jimbo was still on the floor. Now he was holding the cereal closer and closer to his mouth....

"I want to eat it, but I don't want it to be dirty..."

"Jimbo, you don't have to eat that."

"Are you going to eat it?"

"No, it's dirty."

"But you're dirty, and if I don't eat it and you don't eat it, it'll go to waste."

"That's true. I don't like waste either."

possum1.jpg

Only uncle Bill thought that this was funny. He stood in the doorway chuckling to himself.
"Oh, you two. You care about the earth, that's hilarious."
Uncle Bill then finished the beer he was drinking and threw the can on the ground, spilling some of it in the process. Then he went to the fridge, took out all the cheeses, cut off a slice from each one, ate a bite, and threw the rest on the floor.

Finally, he dug threw the chips, they had lots of bags of chips, found the doritos, opened a fresh back, even though there were unfinished bags, stuffed some in his mouth, spilling some others and left, calling, "there are a bunch of crumbs in the bottom that I'll leave in the bag on the floor of my room when I'm done. Oh, and I have so many other bags. Look, some are spilling out into the hallway."

Janet looked at Jimbo. "I may be a slob, but I hate waste, and what he's doing is wasting worse than sloppiness can account for. I'm sorry I was so sloppy with the cereal. I'll be more careful in the future."

The buzzing of the lies grew louder in Jimbo's ear. "You've said this before. What's going to change?"

Janet thought and thought.

"Let's go over everything. Here we are in the kitchen. We're brother and sister. You have gorilla arms...I know! Koko had a kitten, you can get a puppy! Puppies eat anything and everything! If we get a puppy, it will come in and clean up!"

"You know, sis, sometimes I forget that you're a clever monkey. To clarify, that's just a pet name I'm calling you. You're not really a monkey, and I'm not a gorilla."

"I know that. For whom are you clarifying?"

They both paused for a good 15 seconds.

"Just wanted to make sure neither of us was confused."

Janet and Jimbo left the mess in the kitchen. It took them a little going and coming... Or, well, Jimbo had a hard time leaving the mess behind, but his sister prevailed on his kindness and the promises that he would be doing a kindness for a dog in need. Eventually they got out of the house, took the bus to the animal shelter, and picked out a wonderful, big slobbery part-St. Bernard, part German Shepard, paid the adoption and registration fees, and brought her home. Where Jimbo learned to love the slobberiness sloppiness that let no food that touched the ground go to waste.

Sort:  

Haha my cleanliness gene was cringing ever so much at this state of messiness. A slobbering St. Bernard is a vacuum machine for all waste. Delightful tale.

Or... TAIL?

Or tail to be sure lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58047.91
ETH 2348.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37