Syrup -5minutefreewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

For https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-138-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-syrup

Maple syrup time. This hasn't been done before? My dad makes maple syrup. He taps the trees on our 65 acre farm, and collects the sap, and puts it on a low heat on the stove for days and days. It's kind of surprising that it's both that simple and that complicated all at once. Maple trees are fairly common, but I imagine, if what you were doing was MASS PRODUCING maple syrup, it'd be relatively difficult to scale it up into a profitable process. I mean, they do, obviously, but I think maple syrup in the store is far too expensive. Real maple, of course. Fake maple syrup is cheap and also not worth it. I should explain why I think scaling up is hard... because you need full grown trees. And they only produce so much in a year, but you can't use that land for other things... unless you can. I haven't got a clue how they make it profitable. Maybe they hang grape vines from the branches, and just carefully cultivate them so that they don't strangle the trees? Or maybe you have the frost

ugh, distracted by someone telling me five minutes is almost up, but I have more ideas! Like chickens

Sort:  

Hooray for ideas still untapped within 5 minutes! Also, this is the way to brainstorm solutions...I think you might be onto something profitable and yummy. Maybe they hang grape vines from the branches, and just carefully cultivate them so that they don't strangle the trees?

Haha. Nice one. Especially the chickens pop up out of the blue. 😊

Businessman @improv! Usually some things are complicate but made simple by someone's mastery. There should be a way to use the land even while the trees are growing their fruits..

Interesting. Can’t say I know a whole lot about maple syrup. I do know you yanks love it, but though we’ve adopted many of your crazy customs, maple syrup isn’t such a big thing this side of the pond.
Here’s today’s prompt to get the digestive juices flowing: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-139-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-artichoke

Do you have maple trees over there?

I don't think we have. I've heard that some people tap birch trees for syrup, but I've never come across any.

I'd never even heard of using birch! Same basic premise though, I presume.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64450.12
ETH 3153.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52